Annual Meeting

Budin dives into the details

Laura Elyse McCormick
Oct. 21, 2022

As an undergraduate engineering major, Itay Budin discovered his love for biophysics and lipids during a summer research internship. His project focused on biochemically reconstituting membrane dynamics by adding purified proteins to lipid bilayers on a coverslip. While the lab was focused on the proteins’ activity, Budin said he was struck by the dynamics of the lipids.

When he started graduate school at Harvard University, Budin discovered Jack Szostack’s lab.

Itay Budin
Itay Budin

“Jack’s lab is very interested in the origin of life. They’re not a membrane biophysics lab,” Budin said, “But I felt like they were the only ones that were really thinking deeply about the physical effects happening at the scale of lipids and single lipid molecules.”

In the Szostack lab, Budin explored the biophysical properties that influenced the evolution of the cell membrane.

Near the end of his Ph.D., Budin won the Miller Institute Junior fellowship, which provided scientific independence during his postdoc. He chose to join Jay Keasling’s lab at the University of California, Berkeley. Combining his love of lipids with the synthetic biology expertise of the Keasling lab, Budin learned to manipulate lipid composition to alter biological function. In particular, he demonstrated how changes in lipid saturation, and therefore membrane fluidity, influence cellular respiration.

Now an assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry and bioengineering at the University of California, San Diego, Budin runs his own lab, exploring lipid research related to evolution, metabolism and human health. He is the 2023 winner of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology’s Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award.

Although his lab encompasses numerous scientific fields, Budin still thinks of himself as a biophysicist.

“How my mind thinks is really at that level,” he said. “Conformations­­ and movements of molecules.”

From single lipids to symbiosis

Itay Budin’s lab focuses on the impact of lipid composition across many levels of biological organization.

Within the cell, Budin continues his postdoctoral work on mitochondria. Recently, his lab worked to predict mitochondrial membrane shapes — ranging from flat sheets to thin tubules or curvy cristae — based on lipid saturation. Elsewhere in the cytoplasm, Budin’s lab explores membrane trafficking. Ultimately, he hopes to better understand human health and aging-related diseases by studying changes in the lipidome.

At the organismal level, Budin remains fascinated by the effect of environmental pressures upon lipids. Partnering with collaborators at the Monterey Bay Aquarium Research Institute, he demonstrated how the lipid composition of deep sea animals adapts to changes in temperature and pressure.

His lab also studies an unusual relationship between yeast and fruit flies. Although certain lipids are required for central nervous system function, fruit flies cannot synthesize them. Instead, they consume yeast as a dietary source of lipids. In turn, the fruit flies help transport yeast.

Studying wild Drosophila in an apple orchard, Budin found the flies consume different yeast populations — with distinct lipid profiles — as the seasons change.

“There’s this kind of communication between yeast and flies,” Budin said. “We’re trying to understand how flies can choose or forage for yeast that gives them the right type of lipids that they need to withstand cold.”

2023 ASBMB award winners

Gira Bhabha: ASBMB Early-Career Leadership Award
Bhabha found creativity in hard science

Squire J. Booker: ASBMB–Merck Award / Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award
Booker catalyzes progress in science and outreach

Russell DeBose-Boyd: Avanti Award in Lipids
DeBose–Boyd has a recipe for success

Scott Dixon: Earl and Thressa Stadtman Young Scholar Award
Dixon uncovers a new type of cell death

Catherine Drennan: William C. Rose Award
Drennan makes science fun and accessible

Anne Kenworthy: Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry
Kenworthy links quantity to theory

Keith Matthews: Alice and C.C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology
Matthews’ career-long search for truth

Eytan Ruppin: DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences
Ruppin synthesizes cross-field expertise to study synthetic lethality

Kerry-Anne Rye: ASBMB Mid-Career Leadership Award
Rye offers tools for success

Regina Stevens-Truss: ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education
K-12 to undergrad, Stevens–Truss helps all students

Erica Ollmann Saphire: Bert & Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science
Saphire is on the forefront of antibody therapeutics

Ajit Varki: Herbert Tabor Research Award
Varki seeks clues in chimps, grandmothers and sialic acid

Dyann Wirth: Alice and C.C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology
Wirth focuses on parasitology and policy

Enjoy reading ASBMB Today?

Become a member to receive the print edition monthly and the digital edition weekly.

Learn more
Laura Elyse McCormick

Laura McCormick is a graduate student in the Department of Cell Biology and Physiology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.

Latest in People

People highlights or most popular articles

ASCB honors Asai, Goley and Bagde
Member News

ASCB honors Asai, Goley and Bagde

Dec. 5, 2022

These three ASBMB members have won recognition from the American Society for Cell Biology.

ASBMB delegates leave their mark on policymaking

ASBMB delegates leave their mark on policymaking

Dec. 1, 2022

Advocacy Training Program participants use their new skills to improve their institutional environments, create new programs, draft policy recommendations, perform targeted outreach and more.

2022 Sewer scholarship winners announced
Society News

2022 Sewer scholarship winners announced

Nov. 28, 2022

The $2,000 award goes to undergraduates who demonstrate an interest in the fields of biochemistry and molecular biology and enhance the diversity of science.

Brought to you (mostly) by and for women
Annual Meeting

Brought to you (mostly) by and for women

Nov. 23, 2022

The ASBMB’s Women in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Committee has big plans for Discover BMB 2023.

Dedicated to sharing science
Student Chapters

Dedicated to sharing science

Nov. 21, 2022

Introduced to scientific research through her Tufts University ASBMB Student Chapter, Lema Abuoqab works to make sure other students can have the same experience.

Tolbert named HHMI VP; new phase for Hannun
Member News

Tolbert named HHMI VP; new phase for Hannun

Nov. 21, 2022

Awards, promotions, milestones and more. Find out what's going on in the lives of ASBMB members.