Opinions

Stroopwafels
ASBMB Today Staff
May 23, 2020
Dreaming of a trail and some islands, pondering public safety and a return to the office, getting a workout and making some drinks. Find out what the ASBMB staff has been up to this week.
Read More

More in Opinions

We are still here for you
President's Message

We are still here for you

May 06, 2020

A message from Jerry Hart, president of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, about what the society is doing during the COVID-19 pandemic.

3 volunteering guidelines to heed during the coronavirus pandemic
News

3 volunteering guidelines to heed during the coronavirus pandemic

May 05, 2020

A volunteering expert offers guidance on how to help at a time when you might need to keep your helping hands to yourself.

This week's staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

May 02, 2020

Ballet on the balcony, why planes crash, cooking TV favorites and more. Find out what the ASBMB staff has been up to this week.

Out of my comfort zone: How I use science to influence policy
Essay

Out of my comfort zone: How I use science to influence policy

April 30, 2020

When Amanda Koch realized that elected officials often do not make evidence-based decisions, she decided she wanted her scientific voice to be heard in politics.

This week's staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

April 25, 2020

Lessons from a snail, a bird-watching app, a classic novel, killer brownies and more. Read about what our staff has been up to this week.

Quarantined thoughts
Essay

Quarantined thoughts

April 22, 2020

Now that they can no longer go to work in their labs, grad student Marya Sabir and postbac Makayla Portley reminisce fondly about the sights, smells and other sensory stimuli of the bench.

Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

An illustrated Tao, leggings of choice, a meditation on flour and more. Find out what the ASBMB staff has enjoyed lately.
This week's staff picks

More in Opinions

This week’s staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week’s staff picks

April 18, 2020

Coffee cake, oysters, butterflies, "Parasite" and lots of Shakespeare. Here's what our staff has been reading, listening to, watching and doing this week.

On the front line: Pandemic insight from a health care worker
Essay

On the front line: Pandemic insight from a health care worker

April 16, 2020

Justin Lovett is a medical technician in a hospital emergency room and a college senior studying chemistry. COVID-19 has turned his worlds upside down.

Podcast series documents COVID-19 experiences
Blotter

Podcast series documents COVID-19 experiences

April 15, 2020

Special series of Pipettes & Politics includes interviews with faculty members, a first responder, NIGMS leader Jon Lorsch and others.

In the rush to innovate for COVID-19 drugs, sound science is still essential
News

In the rush to innovate for COVID-19 drugs, sound science is still essential

April 11, 2020

To battle the coronavirus, strong regulatory protection from the FDA is essential.

This week's staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

April 11, 2020

Online karaoke, a CRISPR documentary, lemon bars, live poultry and more. The ASBMB staff is back this week with more diversions for these stressful times.

A new city, a new job and a global pandemic
Essay

A new city, a new job and a global pandemic

April 09, 2020

Elizabeth Stivison and her dog, Milo, moved from New York City to Nashville Tennessee, for her postdoc at Vanderbilt University. Within weeks, she narrowly escaped a tornado and COVID-19 turned the world upside-down.

Join the ASBMB Today mailing list

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.