Opinions

Stroopwafels
ASBMB Today Staff
August 01, 2020
The same dance done differently, disappearing biscuits, streaming no one wants, poetry about simple things, and more.
Read More

More in Opinions

Supporting Ph.D. students in the time of COVID-19
Life in the Lab

Supporting Ph.D. students in the time of COVID-19

July 17, 2020

Mentors and advisers must be aware of the unique hardships imposed on graduate students by the pandemic and by the gradual return to campus and labs.

Time for a new model of data disclosure?
Life in the Lab

Time for a new model of data disclosure?

July 15, 2020

Ken Hallenbeck asserts that a flood of scientific papers related to the pandemic provides an opportunity to review core assumptions of the modern publication model.

COVID-19 retractions show that the science is working as it should
Life in the Lab

COVID-19 retractions show that the science is working as it should

July 12, 2020

Severe scrutiny of two major papers, including one about the effectiveness of hydroxychloroquine, is part of science's normal process of self-correction, explains Mark R. O’Brian.

In the future, lab mice will live in computer chips, not cages
Life in the Lab

In the future, lab mice will live in computer chips, not cages

July 11, 2020

As COVID-19 shuttered laboratories across the U.S., many researchers were forced to euthanize the animals they study. Lindsay Gray, a rodent surgeon in an animal research lab that faced this dilemma, argues here there is a safer, more effective way.

F(i/u)nding your next hypothesis
Life in the Lab

F(i/u)nding your next hypothesis

July 08, 2020

Two veteran research scientists share their strategies for developing new ideas.

Coronavirus coverage and the silencing of female expertise
Diversity

Coronavirus coverage and the silencing of female expertise

July 05, 2020

With male voices dominating the pandemic narrative, female scientists are lamenting the loss of diverse perspectives.

Essay

In my first real US winter, I got snow; in my second, I got a pandemic

René Fuanta, a second-year assistant professor at East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania, tries to support his students through a semester of unexpected challenges.
In my first real US winter, I got snow; in my second, I got a pandemic

More in Opinions

This week's staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

July 04, 2020

A delicious pudding, a soothing TV series, a delightful earworm and more. Find out what the ASBMB staff has been enjoying lately.

The ASBMB has done a lot to benefit science and our field
President's Message

The ASBMB has done a lot to benefit science and our field

July 01, 2020

Jerry Hart, the ASBMB’s outgoing president, looks back at two years of big changes and advances at the society and in science.

What the Supreme Court's DACA ruling means for undocumented students and the colleges and universities they attend
News

What the Supreme Court's DACA ruling means for undocumented students and the colleges and universities they attend

June 27, 2020

At least for now, hundreds of thousands of students can stay in school without facing new hardships.

When leaders choose self-interest over science, the consequences are deadly
Editorial

When leaders choose self-interest over science, the consequences are deadly

June 26, 2020

As a result of the Trump administration’s actions and inaction, Ben Corb writes, the U.S. was late to adopt a testing protocol to help track and slow the spread of COVID-19.

Grant-writing tips for beginners
How-to

Grant-writing tips for beginners

June 25, 2020

Bill Sullivan, a study section veteran, shares eight important lessons he’s learned for writing a winning grant application.

After the longest March, science marches on
Essay

After the longest March, science marches on

June 24, 2020

Structural biologist Emilia Arturo writes about the generosity and accommodations offered by some senior researchers as the COVID-19 outbreak shutters labs around the world.

Join the ASBMB Today mailing list

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.