Opinions

Editor's Note
Comfort Dorn
April 16, 2021
Witty drawings by ASBMB staff member Vic De Luz are a bonus feature of our April focus on science and art.
Read More

More in Opinions

The challenges of antiviral treatments
News

The challenges of antiviral treatments

March 13, 2021

Antibiotics abound, but virus-fighting drugs are harder to come by, and Covid-19 amply shows how much we need them. Fortunately, scientists are getting better at making and finding them.

The evolution of proteins from mysteries to medicines
Essay

The evolution of proteins from mysteries to medicines

Feb. 27, 2021

An essay in observance of National Protein Day.

Racial stereotypes drive students of color away from STEM
Diversity

Racial stereotypes drive students of color away from STEM

Feb. 13, 2021

But many still persist. Here’s what one researcher has to say about the psychological and physical toll of persistence.

W.E.B. Du Bois embraced science to fight racism
Diversity

W.E.B. Du Bois embraced science to fight racism

Feb. 6, 2021

As editor of the magazine for 24 years, Du Bois featured articles about biology, evolution, archaeology in Africa and more to refute the rampant scientific racism of the early 20th century.

Intense scrutiny of Chinese-born researchers in the US threatens innovation
News

Intense scrutiny of Chinese-born researchers in the US threatens innovation

Jan. 30, 2021

The recent arrest of an MIT engineering professor has once again drawn attention to the role of China in the U.S. science and technology system.

All about Ph.D. committee meetings
Professional Development

All about Ph.D. committee meetings

Jan. 29, 2021

Our academic careers columnist breaks down everything you need to know: What they are, what they’re for, and how to get the most out of them.

Art

Picture this: The 2nd annual JBC Methods Madness tournament

In this version, instead of basketball teams we bring you competing scientific methods and a chance to sway the outcome with votes (and maybe some trash talk) on Twitter.
Picture this: The 2nd annual JBC Methods Madness tournament

More in Opinions

Learning to be a science superhero
Essay

Learning to be a science superhero

Jan. 24, 2021

To mark the International Day of Education, Allie Smith looks back on the experiences that shaped their desire to become a scientist and teach others about science.

Sharing know-how with Project SHORT
Essay

Sharing know-how with Project SHORT

Jan. 20, 2021

This program provides one-on-one mentoring through the grad school admissions process.

It’s the little things
Editor's Note

It’s the little things

Jan. 15, 2021

The essays in January wellness issue emphasize small actions to ease pandemic stress.

Finding ‘ikigai’ during a pandemic
Wellness

Finding ‘ikigai’ during a pandemic

Jan. 14, 2021

A book about the purposeful habits of the elderly in Japan has inspired Deboleena Guharay to maintain healthy practices through the past year.

From grief to healing in the year of COVID-19
Wellness

From grief to healing in the year of COVID-19

Jan. 13, 2021

“My grandmother meant the world to me. Nothing could have prepared me for her death or the anger I directed at myself for being unable to help her during her final months.”

New-ish adventures help me reconnect
Wellness

New-ish adventures help me reconnect

Jan. 12, 2021

“One day in April while working from home, I was feeling particularly down, and every negative thought weighed down on me all at once. To counter this feeling, I thought, ‘Hey, what if I try something different and new?’”

Join the ASBMB Today mailing list

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.