Opinions

Essay
M.
May 21, 2022
To nurture scientific discovery, universities and grant institutions must do a better job of rewarding failure.
Read More

Related articles

Good fellows
Comfort Dorn
Making a bigger footprint
Kerry-Anne Rye
Welcome to the lab
Andrey Andreev, Valerie Komatsu, Paula Almiron, Kasey Rose, Alexandria Hughes & Maurice Y. Lee

More in Opinions

A journey with scientists
Essay

A journey with scientists

May 11, 2022

“As I started my career, my first-choice journal was JBC, and my go-to meeting was the ASBMB annual meeting, where I met colleagues and made friends that remain in my life to this day.”

The first malaria vaccine is a leap forward, but we can’t stop now
Essay

The first malaria vaccine is a leap forward, but we can’t stop now

May 7, 2022

Next-generation vaccines, and a lot more money, are needed now to crack the stalemate in the fight against malaria

Deterring passive aggressive behaviors in the workplace
Professional Development

Deterring passive aggressive behaviors in the workplace

April 30, 2022

Steps you should take to eliminate “triangulation” intended to undermine or diminish colleagues.

Connecting by committee
Essay

Connecting by committee

April 28, 2022

“It was the wisdom of the committee, not that of any individual, that allowed good ideas to come to fruition.”

Bonding over biochemistry
Essay

Bonding over biochemistry

April 21, 2022

“Biochemistry is great because if you learn and understand it, you can apply it to almost any kind of science.”

May I introduce you to a community of engagement?
Essay

May I introduce you to a community of engagement?

April 5, 2022

This essay by Audrey Shor received an honorable mention in our “Meeting Connections” contest.

Science Communication

Trolling is taking a toll on science journalism

Science journalists say they face threats of online harassment — and that newsrooms are doing little to protect them.
Trolling is taking a toll on science journalism

More in Opinions

A tale of two ZIP codes
Health Observance

A tale of two ZIP codes

April 1, 2022

Memphis is a renowned, multifaceted gem of the Midsouth. It is also home to some of the worst disparity and inequity in the U.S.

Evolving to connect
Essay

Evolving to connect

March 31, 2022

This essay by Marilee Benore received an honorable mention in our “Meeting Connections” contest.

Connecting with an inspiration
Essay

Connecting with an inspiration

March 30, 2022

This essay by Anju Duley received an honorable mention in our “Meeting connections” essay contest.

Building community
Editor's Note

Building community

March 29, 2022

“One of my most important jobs is helping people feel like they know what’s going on with the members of their community.”

Finding connection in identity ambiguity
Essay

Finding connection in identity ambiguity

March 29, 2022

This essay by Heather Dwyer and Martina Rosenberg won third place in our “Meeting Connections” contest.

Conference to highlight African women in STEM
Essay

Conference to highlight African women in STEM

March 28, 2022

This online meeting will showcase outstanding research with the aim of amplifying the voices of those who are breaking barriers.

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.