Opinions

Editor's Note
Comfort Dorn
January 15, 2021
The essays in January wellness issue emphasize small actions to ease pandemic stress.
Read More

More in Opinions

A pandemic-proof mindset
Wellness

A pandemic-proof mindset

January 05, 2021

Recognizing that she wasn’t alone in her feelings of anxiety, Caleigh Findley talked to scientists at different career and life stages about how they are coping.

I found my secret to feeling younger and stronger.
Wellness

I found my secret to feeling younger and stronger.

January 02, 2021

What’s a 67-year-old to do when COVID-19 shuts down the volunteering gigs that were his personal fountain of youth?

Our top 10 articles of 2020
Stroopwafels

Our top 10 articles of 2020

December 30, 2020

ASBMB Today staffers select their favorites.

A lonely introvert in a pandemic
Wellness

A lonely introvert in a pandemic

December 30, 2020

After Jake Chua moved to a new city to start a postdoc in March, he realized he needed fresh routines and new connections.

The ASBMB Today recommended reading list
Stroopwafels

The ASBMB Today recommended reading list

December 23, 2020

Every good writer is also a reader, so we asked our ASBMB Today staff and contributing writers to tell us about books they love.

Walking through this pandemic
Wellness

Walking through this pandemic

December 23, 2020

When the gyms shut down, Howard Chang had to find a new form of exercise that was both enjoyable and sustainable.

Wellness

Finding ‘ikigai’ during a pandemic

A book about the purposeful habits of the elderly in Japan has inspired Deboleena Guharay to maintain healthy practices through the past year.
Finding ‘ikigai’ during a pandemic

More in Opinions

The language gap: Hidden struggles of the non-native speaker
Essay

The language gap: Hidden struggles of the non-native speaker

December 21, 2020

The challenges of reading, writing and speaking about science are multiplied for students who have not grown up speaking English.

Hell, heaven, a whale and me
Wellness

Hell, heaven, a whale and me

December 16, 2020

Binks Wattenberg finds a few self-care lessons for our pandemic times in two literary classics.

Holiday gift guide
Stroopwafels

Holiday gift guide

December 04, 2020

We hope these gift recommendations help you check some of your favorite scientists off your holiday shopping list!

The Death Project
Books

The Death Project

December 02, 2020

In an excerpt from his upcoming book, a Nobel laureate recounts the unexpected challenges of determining a receptor’s structure.

Trainee lessons in the time of COVID-19
Essay

Trainee lessons in the time of COVID-19

November 27, 2020

While still in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic, four science trainees at the NIH reflect on how this unprecedented time has affected their career trajectories and what they’ve learned so far.

A sign that we don’t care
Education

A sign that we don’t care

November 24, 2020

Maybe it’s on a door at your own institution.

Join the ASBMB Today mailing list

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.