Opinions

Journal News
ASBMB Today Staff
February 24, 2020
It's time to complete your JBC Methods Madness bracket
Make your predictions for a chance to win a $50 Amazon gift card.
Read More

More in Opinions

This week's staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

February 01, 2020

Here’s a compilation of what our staff has been reading this week. Enjoy, and feel free to tweet us (@ASBMB) your thoughts.

This week’s staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week’s staff picks

January 25, 2020

Frank Lloyd Wright, juvenile incarceration, facial-recognition software. These are just a few of the topics we're reading about/watching/listening to.

This week's staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

January 18, 2020

Ice-fishing huts. Music and neuroscience. Sleep studies in the Antarctic. That's just a few of the topics ASBMB staff members are reading about.

‘The five love languages’ in science mentoring
Wellness

‘The five love languages’ in science mentoring

January 17, 2020

The five love languages helped Scott Aoki become a better, more present husband and father. He thinks they can also help researchers in academia.

Taking the measure of my treadmill
Wellness

Taking the measure of my treadmill

January 16, 2020

"As I approached age 58 in 2010, I realized I was entering a zone full of health dangers. I decided to take matters into my own hands and start exercising more frequently and more rigorously."

How volunteering enriched my life as a Ph.D. student
Wellness

How volunteering enriched my life as a Ph.D. student

January 15, 2020

"From failed experiments to weak presentations, I sometimes doubt myself as a researcher. Science outreach boosts my spirits in these times of self-doubt."

Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

Climate change in Norway, saving rare citrus, the blackest black and more: Here's a compilation of what our staff has been reading, watching and listening to this week. Enjoy!
This week's staff picks

More in Opinions

Being a mother of young children while having a career in academia
What I Wish People Understood

Being a mother of young children while having a career in academia

January 14, 2020

"I got pregnant with twins during the last part of my postdoctoral training. The pregnancy was planned, but the two-for-one special was a shock and wreaked havoc on my detailed financial and career plans."

When the going gets tough,  I go to the gym
Wellness

When the going gets tough, I go to the gym

January 13, 2020

"I needed something to ease my mind — something that I could do for myself every single day that would relieve some of the pressure."

This week's staff picks
Stroopwafels

This week's staff picks

January 11, 2020

Here’s a compilation of what our staff has been reading this week. Enjoy, and feel free to tweet us (@ASBMB) your thoughts.

Understanding being  chronically ill in STEM
Wellness

Understanding being chronically ill in STEM

January 09, 2020

"One of the first things able-bodied people should understand about their chronically ill peers, students and colleagues: Nothing is ever easy." – Katie Walsh

Thriving as a messy Other in academia
Wellness

Thriving as a messy Other in academia

January 08, 2020

"(T)he experience of being an aspiring academic while Other is alive with tears, laughter and outrage — and yet we persevere." – Kelly Chacón

Classroom days, emergency nights
Night Shift

Classroom days, emergency nights

January 08, 2020

During the day, Justin Lovett attends classes as a senior studying chemistry at Stephen F. Austin State University. At night, he dons scrubs to work in a hospital emergency room.

Join the ASBMB Today mailing list

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.