Opinions

Wellness
Scott Aoki
January 17, 2020
‘The five love languages’ in science mentoring
The five love languages helped Scott Aoki become a better, more present husband and father.
Read More

More in Opinions

Thriving as a messy Other in academia
Wellness

Thriving as a messy Other 
in academia

January 08, 2020

"(T)he experience of being an aspiring academic while Other is alive with tears, laughter and outrage — and yet we persevere." – Kelly Chacón

Classroom days, emergency nights
Night Shift

Classroom days, emergency nights

January 08, 2020

During the day, Justin Lovett attends classes as a senior studying chemistry at Stephen F. Austin State University. At night, he dons scrubs to work in a hospital emergency room.

How I barbecued myself with stress ... and recovered
Wellness

How I barbecued myself with stress ... and recovered

January 07, 2020

Here are five go-to strategies for climbing out of the pit of despair and not falling back in.

Well-being in the workplace
Wellness

Well-being in the workplace

January 06, 2020

Physical health influences mental health; emotional stress can lead to disease. Understanding this gives new meaning to the term well-being.

Well, to be honest
Editor's Note

Well, to be honest

January 04, 2020

In January, we focus on wellness — and we roll out a dynamic new website.

Gift guide: December 2019
Editor's Note

Gift guide: December 2019

December 01, 2019

We hope these recommendations help you check some of your favorite scientists off your holiday shopping list.

Wellness

Taking the measure of my treadmill

"As I approached age 60 in 2010, I realized I was entering a zone full of health dangers. I decided to take matters into my own hands and start exercising more frequently and more rigorously." – Eleftherios P. Diamandis

More in Opinions

The nightlife of a scientist–mother
Night Shift

The nightlife of a scientist–mother

December 01, 2019

Teisha Rowland has an infant son, a toddler daughter, a new job to plan for and a manuscript to finish.

Beware the unintended consequences of mandatory open access
President's Message

Beware the unintended consequences of mandatory
open access

December 01, 2019

ASBMB President Gerald Hart outlines the potential pitfalls of Plan S, which would mandate open access to all academic papers on research supported by a group of European funding organization.

Ending an elemental year
Editor's Note

Ending an elemental year

December 01, 2019

Throughout 2019, Quira Zeidan has educated readers about important biochemical elements from the periodic table. It’s not too late to catch up!

It's about time
Editor's Note

It's about time

November 01, 2019

Here at ASBMB central, we constantly think and talk about the society’s biggest event; the next annual meeting is forever looming, even the day after the last one ends.

A professor among prisoners
Service Beyond Science

A professor among prisoners

October 01, 2019

University of Michigan biological chemist Ruma Banerjee writes about becoming a volunteer at a women’s prison and meeting an inmate of the same age whose life followed a very different path.

What I wish people understood about being a trans scientist
What I Wish People Understood

What I wish people understood about being a trans scientist

October 01, 2019

From searching for a non-gendered bathroom to educating colleagues about correct pronouns, TL Jordan, a predoctoral student at the Mayo Clinic, describes the trials and rewards of being a trailblazer for nonbinary people in science.

Join the ASBMB Today mailing list

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.