Opinions

Journal News
Sneha Das
Jan. 31, 2023
Mouse study explains why adults sometimes get misdiagnosed with rare syndrome that affects babies.
Read More

More in Opinions

Take a breath
Wellness

Take a breath

Jan. 12, 2023

“At the heart of it, I think we all take care of ourselves as a gift to those around us as much as to ourselves.”

Why I shrank my lab by half
Wellness

Why I shrank my lab by half

Jan. 11, 2023

“With fewer people to fund, I could cut down on the number of grant proposals and progress reports I had to write. It would also reduce how many projects I need to design and oversee to publication.”

Follow the oxygen mask rule
Wellness

Follow the oxygen mask rule

Jan. 10, 2023

As a parent, a teacher and a scientist, Jeanine Amacher knows she needs to put on her own mask first.

STEM parents call for culture and policy change
Diversity

STEM parents call for culture and policy change

Jan. 4, 2023

The career path from bachelor’s degree to tenure-track faculty includes low pay, long hours and, often, frequent moves, so raising young children is difficult without financial or caregiving support.

Transcript: Caring for caregivers and parents in STEM fields
Diversity

Transcript: Caring for caregivers and parents in STEM fields

Jan. 4, 2023

In case you missed it: Here’s the transcript of our recent LinkedIn chat about taking care of family and excelling in science. Panelists discussed their experiences and shared insights to help others who are or will be parents or caregivers.

Beyond the science: What else should a PI teach a rotating graduate student?
Essay

Beyond the science: What else should a PI teach a rotating graduate student?

Jan. 3, 2023

This is a great time to introduce practical topics, including research funding, effective science communication and non-academic career options.

Essay

Science meets soccer: It’s all about passion

"As in sports, success in science is not only about intrinsic talent or natural abilities. It requires genuine commitment, eagerness to learn, discipline, teamwork — and truthfully, sometimes a bit of luck."
Science meets soccer: It’s all about passion

More in Opinions

A year of academic advice
Jobs

A year of academic advice

Dec. 30, 2022

Our careers columnist reflects on what she’s learned from reporting on jobs in the academy.

Breathing and not breathing
Wellness

Breathing and not breathing

Dec. 29, 2022

“These moves don’t necessarily raise your heart rate, but the constant apnea cycles combined with total body engagement are definitely an exercise you feel.”

Equity, diversity and inclusion: The hidden toll of community outreach
Essay

Equity, diversity and inclusion: The hidden toll of community outreach

Dec. 24, 2022

Caught in a system eager for success stories, a PhD student from an underrepresented background learns how to balance his challenges in the lab with his desire to serve his community.

Best of BMB 2022
Feature

Best of BMB 2022

Dec. 16, 2022

The ASBMB Today team is proud to present a list of exciting developments in biochemistry and molecular biology, suggested by ASBMB members and pulled from science headlines.

Spatial transcriptomics sharpens distinctions between brains
Feature

Spatial transcriptomics sharpens distinctions between brains

Dec. 15, 2022

Best of BMB 2022: Researchers can microdissect tissues for RNA sequencing, capture nucleic acids in a pattern before single-cell sequencing, or hybridize fluorescent probes.

An exercise molecule?
Feature

An exercise molecule?

Dec. 14, 2022

Best of BMB 2022: Lac-Phe, the small molecule that increases in concentration most dramatically after a workout, forms through enzymatic conjugation of lactate with the amino acid phenylalanine.

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.