Opinions

Health Observance
Alison Smith
June 15, 2021
As a teen at Camp Sunshine, I learned that one pint can truly save someone’s life.
Read More

Related articles

Reimagining STEM workforce development as a braided river
Rebecca L. Batchelor, Hendratta Ali, Kathryn G. Gardner-Vandy, Anne U. Gold, Jennifer A. MacKinnon & Pranoti M. Asher
Save the microbes!
Muhammad Saleem

More in Opinions

The silent epidemic of premature death in Black men
Essay

The silent epidemic of premature death in Black men

May 16, 2021

The Covid-19 pandemic has widened the already significant life-expectancy gap between Black and non-Black men.

Part 3: ‘Aha moments’ essay contest honorable mentions
Contest

Part 3: ‘Aha moments’ essay contest honorable mentions

May 14, 2021

To celebrate our three journals going open access in January, we invited readers to share their moments of discovery in science. Here are two honorable mentions.

Part 2: ‘Aha moments’ essay contest honorable mentions
Contest

Part 2: ‘Aha moments’ essay contest honorable mentions

May 13, 2021

To celebrate our three journals going open access, we invited readers to share their moments of discovery in science. Here are three honorable mentions.

How to tell if your college is trans-inclusive
Education

How to tell if your college is trans-inclusive

May 8, 2021

Here are some of the key features and policies that trans prospective students may want to consider in their college exploration process.

Part 1: ‘Aha moments’ essay contest honorable mentions
Contest

Part 1: ‘Aha moments’ essay contest honorable mentions

May 6, 2021

To celebrate our three journals going open access, we invited readers to share their moments of discovery in science. Here are two honorable mentions.

Share your aha moments!
Editor's Note

Share your aha moments!

May 4, 2021

How a brainstorming session produced two videos, an essay contest and gratitude.

Diversity

How I realized that LGBT+ scientists like me can inspire others in their field

Far too many LGBT+ scientists still report fear in their workplaces, but I have hope for change.
How I realized that LGBT+ scientists like me can inspire others in their field

More in Opinions

Winners of the ‘aha moments’ essay contest
Contest

Winners of the ‘aha moments’ essay contest

May 4, 2021

To celebrate our three journals going open access, we invited readers to share their moments of discovery in science. Here are the first, second and third place winners.

Hidden talents
Editor's Note

Hidden talents

April 16, 2021

Witty drawings by ASBMB staff member Vic De Luz are a bonus feature of our April focus on science and art.

Picture this: The 2nd annual JBC Methods Madness tournament
Art

Picture this: The 2nd annual JBC Methods Madness tournament

April 15, 2021

In this version, instead of basketball teams we bring you competing scientific methods and a chance to sway the outcome with votes (and maybe some trash talk) on Twitter.

Lessons from plants: A changing environment
Books

Lessons from plants: A changing environment

April 7, 2021

Beronda Montgomery writes about plants adapt to environmental conditions in this excerpt from her new book.

Retracting publications doesn’t stop them from influencing science
News

Retracting publications doesn’t stop them from influencing science

March 28, 2021

The whole purpose of retraction — marking research as poor quality or even as fraudulent — frequently doesn't seem to affect how those papers are read and cited.

How can we recognize and reward innovation in teaching?
Essay

How can we recognize and reward innovation in teaching?

March 25, 2021

“Publications that describe curricular or pedagogical innovations are rarely cited, and their authors get little feedback about their impact.”

Join the ASBMB Today mailing list

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.