Opinions

Essay
Himanshi Bhatia
Aug. 10, 2022
From handling immigration to acquiring funding, Himanshi Bhatia offers a brief account of her experiences as a J-1 visa holder.
Read More

Related articles

Always in a hurry
René Fuanta

More in Opinions

Making the most of your graduate student association
Professional Development

Making the most of your graduate student association

July 15, 2022

These campus groups advocate on your behalf, offer professional-development programming and sometimes even provide funding to those in need.

Diagnostics challenge medical inequities
BMB in Africa

Diagnostics challenge medical inequities

July 14, 2022

Muunda Mudenda is a grad student in Kenya who aims to help develop diagnostic technologies to improve the quality of health care in Africa.

Why won’t academia let go of ‘publish or perish’?
Essay

Why won’t academia let go of ‘publish or perish’?

July 10, 2022

In this commentary, the author argues: From graduate students to full professors, scientists seem to be too entrenched in the current system to change it.

A youthful goal blocked by power failures
BMB in Africa

A youthful goal blocked by power failures

June 30, 2022

ASBMB member Isa Joseph Danladi faced challenges in his final research project at Kaduna State University in Nigeria.

Discover BMB: A reimagining of our annual meeting
Annual Meeting

Discover BMB: A reimagining of our annual meeting

June 28, 2022

“Once leadership has made a decision, such as completely changing the context in which our annual meeting occurs, nothing is sacrosanct,” program planning committee co-chairs Karen Allen and Craig Cameron write.

Seeing what I become: An academic journey
BMB in Africa

Seeing what I become: An academic journey

June 28, 2022

“As the oldest child, I made up my mind to go to school and make it in life so I could take care of my parents and siblings.”

Essay

How would Socrates teach science?

Adapting an ancient pedagogy to build deeper understanding and inclusive learning communities
How would Socrates teach science?

More in Opinions

Intersectionality in STEM
Diversity

Intersectionality in STEM

June 27, 2022

Sometimes identity goes beyond race and gender, and that complexity can make feeling safe and part of our community challenging. But we can help.

Budgeting in grad school
Professional Development

Budgeting in grad school

June 24, 2022

Starting a Ph.D. program soon? Check out these tips from our academic careers columnist, who knows a thing or two about living on a stipend.

Nights and days in the lab
BMB in Africa

Nights and days in the lab

June 23, 2022

With help from colleagues, mentors and others, Oluwaseyefunmi Adeniran pursues her dream of making scientific discoveries that improve human health.

Becoming a biochemist for global change
BMB in Africa

Becoming a biochemist for global change

June 17, 2022

“Doing real science anywhere comes with challenges, but conducting research in Africa has peculiar difficulties that can discourage our attempts,” ASBMB member Victor Nweze writes.

ASBMB releases DEAI statement
Announcement

ASBMB releases DEAI statement

June 16, 2022

"The society will uphold these core values of DEAI across all departments and committees — and support its members in their DEAI efforts at their respective institutions and out in the world," it says.

Discover BMB: And the winner is...
Annual Meeting

Discover BMB: And the winner is...

June 14, 2022

We asked ASBMB members to vote on our annual meeting logo. See the winner.

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.