Opinions

Diversity
Yass Kobayashi
Feb. 22, 2024
Writers of a recent article suggest a new strategy for retaining and advancing underrepresented faculty.
Read More

More in Opinions

Thank you for surprising me
Editor's Note

Thank you for surprising me

Jan. 24, 2024

“I’ve learned that there’s healing power in sharing stories of pain and loss … So, I asked for stories. Honestly, I didn’t know what to expect.”

Capsized: Excerpts from a short memoir of a life upturned
Essay

Capsized: Excerpts from a short memoir of a life upturned

Jan. 23, 2024

A story about grief, loss and heartbreak turns into one about strength, forgiveness and love.

Biomolecular visualization tools cross paths, join hands at an ASBMB meeting
Annual Meeting

Biomolecular visualization tools cross paths, join hands at an ASBMB meeting

Jan. 22, 2024

Virtual and 3D models allow students to interact with the structures they study.

Drug companies must update evidence for paxlovid
Essay

Drug companies must update evidence for paxlovid

Jan. 21, 2024

Research is lacking on how this COVID-19 treatment affects illness duration, transmission risk and long COVID.

Preparing to defend
How-to

Preparing to defend

Jan. 19, 2024

Our careers columnist shares some advice for getting through this multi-month process.

Fostering mental health in faculty and students
Wellness

Fostering mental health in faculty and students

Jan. 18, 2024

“The nature of science often requires failed experiments and competing deadlines, on top of the financial stressors and our personal lives.”

Essay

Escape to the ice

Outside the lab, two scientists strap on their skates and grab their sticks.
Escape to the ice

More in Opinions

Coming home twice
Essay

Coming home twice

Jan. 11, 2024

Blaise Arena writes about the collective trauma caused by the war in Vietnam, the individual trauma experienced by those who served, and coming to terms with having contributed to a friend’s suffering.

I am a homicide survivor
Wellness

I am a homicide survivor

Jan. 10, 2024

“I called my mom for more details … then I called my PI … she was quiet and listened as I screamed and cried.”

Fleeing Iraq with nothing but a dream
Essay

Fleeing Iraq with nothing but a dream

Jan. 6, 2024

A refugee in Jordan and the United State holds to the conviction that he will, one day, get a Ph.D.

Regurgitation to resilience: A family’s hard-won miracle
Wellness

Regurgitation to resilience: A family’s hard-won miracle

Jan. 4, 2024

“From the moment of her birth, there was something amiss with our daughter, Zehra.”

Work-life balance is preventative care
Wellness

Work-life balance is preventative care

Jan. 3, 2024

“Long story short, work-related stressors caused me to grind my teeth at night …. It dawned on me that what started as an invisible mental imbalance, left untreated, had turned into physical complications.”

Working with my brain and not against it
Wellness

Working with my brain and not against it

Dec. 30, 2023

After repeated cycles of overwork and burnout, a postdoc reevaluated how she faces the challenges of being a neurodivergent scientist.

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.