ASBMB Annual Meeting

JLR junior AEs to present postponed session

George Carman Robert V. Stahelin
March 16, 2021

The ASBMB 2020 Annual Meeting was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, meaning the Journal of Lipid Research spotlight session featuring JLR junior associate editors now will take place Thursday, April 29, 2:15-3:30 p.m., as part of the 2021 meeting.

The JLR instituted the junior associate editors program to facilitate development of review skills and associated editorial activities. Since their appointments, the four junior AEs not only have been involved with the review process but also have organized a series of virtual issues, highlighting cutting-edge research in the JLR on lipoprotein clearance, sphingolipids, lipoprotein (a) and lipids in transcription.

The JLR's four early-career scientist associate editors are Raymond Blind of the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Gissette Reyes–Soffer of the Columbia University Irving Medical Center, Brandon Davies of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine and Rotonya Carr of the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine.

As co-chairs of this JLR session, we invite you to attend "Lipid Diversity and Disease: Spotlight on Journal of Lipid Research Junior Associate Editors," highlighting their lipid-based research ranging from basic to clinical studies.


Enjoy reading ASBMB Today?

Become a member to receive the print edition monthly and the digital edition weekly.

Learn more
George Carman

George M. Carman is the founding director of the Rutgers Center for Lipid Research, a Journal of Lipid Research associate editor and co-director of the ASBMB Lipid Research Division.

Robert V. Stahelin

Robert V. Stahelin is the Retter professor of pharmacy and a professor of medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology at Purdue University.

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.

Latest in People

People highlights or most popular articles

'Challenging membrane' researcher wins Tabor award

'Challenging membrane' researcher wins Tabor award

July 18, 2024

Hannah Kondolf and her colleagues developed a system that activates gasdermin proteins in an efficient and equivalent manner and showed differences in two gasdermins.

Gary Felsenfeld (1929–2024)

Gary Felsenfeld (1929–2024)

July 15, 2024

Three colleagues remember a researcher whose work at the NIH revealed the dynamic nature of chromatin and its role in gene expression and epigenetic regulation.

Getting to the genetic basis of cardiovascular disease
Journal News

Getting to the genetic basis of cardiovascular disease

July 11, 2024

Edwin G. Peña Martínez received a JBC Tabor award for associating the condition with mutations in noncoding sequences.

Protein Society announces awards
Member News

Protein Society announces awards

July 8, 2024

ASBMB members Neil Kelleher, Alexandra Newton, David Craik, David Cortez and Jeffery W. Kelly are among the honorees.

In memoriam: Herbert Cheung
In Memoriam

In memoriam: Herbert Cheung

July 8, 2024

He was a biochemist who specialized in the use of fluorescence technology and had been a member of the ASBMB since 1972.

Inspired by science — and passing it on
Research Spotlight

Inspired by science — and passing it on

July 3, 2024

Adriana Norris started a YouTube channel to take some of the mystery out of academia.