Annual Meeting

Annual meeting to highlight JLR junior associate editors

George Carman Robert V. Stahelin
Dec. 1, 2019

The Journal of Lipid Research recently recruited four outstanding early-career scientists to serve as junior associate editors: Raymond Blind of the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, Gissette Reyes–Soffer of the Columbia University Irving Medical Center, Brandon Davies of the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine and Rotonya Carr of the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine.

The 2020 JLR speakers will present their work at the 2021 ASBMB Annual Meeting, 1:45–3 p.m., Tuesday, April 27.

Find out about registering for the annual meeting here.

The JLR instituted the junior associate editors program to facilitate development of review skills and associated editorial activities. Since their appointments, these four junior AEs not only have been involved with the review process but also have organized a series of virtual issues highlighting the cutting-edge research published by the journal on lipoprotein clearance, sphingolipids and lipoprotein (a). A fourth virtual issue is due to be published this month.

When the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Meetings Committee asked us to organize the JLR session for the upcoming annual meeting in San Diego, it seemed obvious that there was no better way to highlight the journal’s commitment to early-career scientists than to have a session centered around our junior AEs. The JLR session, titled “Lipid Diversity and Disease: Spotlight on Journal of Lipid Research Junior Associate Editors,” will highlight their lipid-based research ranging from basic to clinical studies.

As co-chairs of this JLR session, we invite you to read in the following pages about our junior AEs and the exciting work they will present on April 7 at the 2020 ASBMB Annual Meeting.


Enjoy reading ASBMB Today?

Become a member to receive the print edition monthly and the digital edition weekly.

Learn more
George Carman

George M. Carman is the founding director of the Rutgers Center for Lipid Research, a Journal of Lipid Research associate editor and co-director of the ASBMB Lipid Research Division.

Robert V. Stahelin

Robert V. Stahelin is the Retter professor of pharmacy and a professor of medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology at Purdue University.

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.

Latest in People

People highlights or most popular articles

Gary Felsenfeld (1929–2024)

Gary Felsenfeld (1929–2024)

July 15, 2024

Three colleagues remember a researcher whose work at the NIH revealed the dynamic nature of chromatin and its role in gene expression and epigenetic regulation.

Getting to the genetic basis of cardiovascular disease
Journal News

Getting to the genetic basis of cardiovascular disease

July 11, 2024

Edwin G. Peña Martínez received a JBC Tabor award for associating the condition with mutations in noncoding sequences.

Protein Society announces awards
Member News

Protein Society announces awards

July 8, 2024

ASBMB members Neil Kelleher, Alexandra Newton, David Craik, David Cortez and Jeffery W. Kelly are among the honorees.

In memoriam: Herbert Cheung
In Memoriam

In memoriam: Herbert Cheung

July 8, 2024

He was a biochemist who specialized in the use of fluorescence technology and had been a member of the ASBMB since 1972.

Inspired by science — and passing it on
Research Spotlight

Inspired by science — and passing it on

July 3, 2024

Adriana Norris started a YouTube channel to take some of the mystery out of academia.

'Simple things can go wrong and cause disease'

'Simple things can go wrong and cause disease'

July 2, 2024

Cancer biologist Jenny Hogstrom received a JBC Tabor award for her use of organoids to study drug resistance in cancer.