2022 JBC/Tabor award winners announced

George N. DeMartino
Jan. 13, 2022

The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology annual meeting in Philadelphia in April will feature four special spotlight talks by winners of the Journal of Biological Chemistry/Herbert Tabor Early Career Investigator Awards. All are first authors of standout JBC papers published in the previous year.

The awards are named for the late Herb Tabor, who served as JBC’s editor-in-chief from 1971 to 2012 and upheld the journal’s mission to support the dissemination of science, enhance research visibility and promote scientific equity.

A committee of JBC associate editors selected six award-winning first authors after carefully reviewing nominations from JBC readership, consulting experts in the field and evaluating the scientific quality and impact of nominated papers.

Alex Toker, editor-in-chief of JBC, said, “We are happy to recognize these early-career investigators who have contributed significant research to the journal. They represent the next generation of innovators and researchers in biological chemistry.”

Photos courtesy of the winners
Top row: Armin Bayati, Jodi Brewster and Jacob B. Rowe. Bottom row: Rahul Kumar, Calvin J. Gordon and Julianty Frost.

The winners of the 2022 Tabor awards, listed here, will give talks on their award-winning papers at 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 3, at the ASBMB annual meeting.

Jacob B. Rowe is a doctoral student at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. His paper is titled “The evolution and mechanism of GPCR proton sensing.”

Jodi Brewster is an associate research fellow at the University of Wollongong. Her paper is titled “Structures and kinetics of Thermotoga maritima MetY reveal new insights into the predominant sulfurylation enzyme of bacterial methionine biosynthesis.”

Armin Bayati and Rahul Kumar are graduate students at McGill University and are joint first authors. Bayati will give a talk on their paper titled “SARS-CoV-2 infects cells after viral entry via clathrin-mediated endocytosis.”

Calvin J. Gordon is a graduate student at the University of Alberta. His paper is titled “Molnupiravir promotes SARS-CoV-2 mutagenesis via the RNA template.”

The sixth winner, Julianty Frost, a research associate at the University of Liverpool, is on maternity leave and will present her work at the 2023 ASBMB annual meeting. Her paper is titled “Von Hippel–Lindau small-molecule inhibitor binding increases stability and intracellular levels of VHL protein.”

Enjoy reading ASBMB Today?

Become a member to receive the print edition monthly and the digital edition weekly.

Learn more
George N. DeMartino

George N. DeMartino is a professor of physiology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and a Journal of Biological Chemistry associate editor.

Related articles

Authorship in academia
Courtney Chandler
A year of open access
Nicholas O. Davidson, Kerry-Anne Rye & Alex Toker

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.

Latest in People

People highlights or most popular articles

Craig, O’Handley win grant to start research-based courses at 50 more campuses

Craig, O’Handley win grant to start research-based courses at 50 more campuses

Feb. 3, 2023

The BASIL CURE has been fully implemented at 10 so far. The team is aiming for 50 more in five years.

MOSAIC changes the landscape

MOSAIC changes the landscape

Feb. 2, 2023

This new transitional grant program builds a close-knit community of postdocs and professors who share goals of diversity, equity and inclusion in academia.

Silva, Damo win diversity awards; Sonenberg named to hall of fame
Member News

Silva, Damo win diversity awards; Sonenberg named to hall of fame

Jan. 30, 2023

Awards, promotions, milestones and more. Find out what's going on in the lives of ASBMB members.

In memoriam: Maria C. Linder
In Memoriam

In memoriam: Maria C. Linder

Jan. 30, 2023

She was a dedicated scientist and mentor at California State University, Fullerton and a member of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology since 1984.

That’s a legacy

That’s a legacy

Jan. 25, 2023

We remember Elvira Doman, a trailblazer, a dedicated mentor and a longtime biochemist at the National Science Foundation.

JLR session spotlights junior associate editors
Annual Meeting

JLR session spotlights junior associate editors

Jan. 24, 2023

Michael Airola, Luke Engelking and Renate Schreiber will share their research in a session titled “Into the Lipidome: Spotlight on the Journal of Lipid Research Junior Associate Editors.”