2022 ASBMB Annual Meeting

Award lectures

Celebrate scientific leaders and mentors. These high-profile speakers will cover impactful research and education and diversity initiatives.

Joseph Provost

Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education

  • Joseph Provost
  • University of San Diego

Lecture: Sunday, April 3, 3:30 p.m.
It's all about the students

Read about Provost's research

Lea Vacca Michel

ASBMB Early-Career Leadership Award

  • Lea Vacca Michel
  • Rochester Institute of Technology

Read about Michel's research

Marlene Belfort

ASBMB Mid-Career Leadership Award

  • Marlene Belfort
  • University of Albany

Read about Belfort's research

Robert V. Farese
Tobias Walther

ASBMB–Merck Award

  • Robert V. Farese & Tobias Walther
  • Harvard University

Lecture: Sunday, April 3, 2:15 p.m.
The phase of fat: mechanisms and physiology of lipid storage

Read about Farese and Walther's research

Greg G. Wang

ASBMB Young Investigator Award

  • Greg G. Wang
  • University of North Carolina

Lecture: Tuesday, April 5, 2 p.m.
Chromatin-based modulations underlying gene regulation and pathogenesis

Read about Wang's research

Alex Toker

Avanti Award in Lipids

  • Alex Toker
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Lecture: Monday, April 4, 8:30 a.m.
PI 3-Kinase signaling: A journey in three AKTs

Read about Toker's research

Elaine Fuchs

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science

  • Elaine Fuchs
  • Rockefeller University

Lecture: Tuesday, April 5, 8:30 a.m.
Tissue stem cells: survival of the fittest

Read about Fuchs' research

Tatyana Sharpee

DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences

  • Tatyana Sharpee
  • Salk Institute for Biological Studies

Lecture: Monday, April 4, 8 a.m.
Hyperbolic geometry in biological systems

Read about Sharpee's research

Kathleen Collins

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award

  • Kathleen Collins
  • University of California, Berkeley

Lecture: Monday, April 4, 2 p.m.
Telomerase holoenzymes

Read about Collins's research

Susan Taylor

Herbert Tabor Research Award

  • Susan Taylor
  • University of California, San Diego

Lecture: Sunday, April 3, 8:45 a.m.
My journey with cAMP-dependent protein kinase

Read about Taylor's research

Janet Smith

Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry

  • Janet Smith
  • University of Michigan

Lecture: Monday, April 4, 2:30 p.m.
Flavivirus NS1: Structure and function of an enigmatic virulence factor

Read about Smith's research

Tracy Johnson

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

  • Tracy Johnson
  • University of California, Los Angeles

Lecture: Tuesday, April 5, 8 a.m.
Beyond diversity: Building a culture of inclusion in science

Read about Johnson's research

John Boothroyd

The Alice and C.C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology

  • John Boothroyd
  • Stanford University

Lecture: Monday, April 4, 3:15 p.m.
How one eukaryote invades and co-opts the cells of another: The story of the truly audacious toxoplasma gondii

Read about Boothroyd's research

Michael Airola

Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research

  • Michael Airola
  • Stony Brook University

Lecture: Sunday, April 3, 3:30 p.m.
Snapshots of lipid synthesis and fat storage

Read about Airola's research

J. Martin Bollinger

William C. Rose Award

  • J. Martin Bollinger
  • Pennsylvania State University

Lecture: Sunday, April 3, 2:45 p.m.
Progress toward understanding protein control of reaction outcome in the diverse reactivity of iron (II) — and 2-oxoglutarate-dependent oxygenases

Read about Bollinger's research