Member News

ASPET announces new leadership

Bumpus, Ding, Boise and Linder to assume duties this summer
ASBMB Today Staff
May 16, 2022

Four members of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology are poised to take leadership roles this summer in the American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics: Namandjé Bumpus, Xinxin Ding, Lawrence Boise and Maurine Linder.

Namandjé Bumpus

Namandjé Bumpus, a professor and director of the department of pharmacology and molecular sciences at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, has been elected president of ASPET. Her term will begin July 1.

Bumpus studies the metabolism of antiviral drugs used to treat HIV and hepatitis by the cytochromes P450 family of liver enzymes. Her lab uses pharmacogenomic and metabolomic approaches to understand why some antivirals cause drug-induced acute liver failure in hopes of developing future therapies that don’t carry the same risk of toxicity.

Bumpus earned her Ph.D. at the University of Michigan–Ann Arbor and was a postdoctoral researcher at Scripps Research. Her previous honors have included the Drug Metabolism Early Career award from ASPET, a young investigator award from the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, and the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers.

Xinxin Ding

Xinxin Ding, a professor and head of the department of pharmacology and toxicology at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, has been elected secretary/treasurer of ASPET.

Ding's research focuses on genetic and environmental risks for chemical toxicity. Recently, he has published on how inhaled naphthalene, which is used in moth balls, can cause genotoxicity and how bioactivation of toxicants in one organ can cause toxicity in another organ.

Ding earned his Ph.D. at the University of Michigan Medical School. He started his faculty career at the University at Albany, then worked at the State University of New York Polytechnic Institute before moving to Arizona in 2017.

Lawrence Boise

Lawrence Boise, a professor of hematology and medical oncology at Emory University School of Medicine and associate director for education and training at the Winship Cancer Institute, is to become secretary/treasurer for the society's division of cancer pharmacology.

Boise studies myeloma, a cancer of B cells. His lab conducts translational research to understand how gene expression in cancer cells governs their sensitivity to Bcl2 inhibitors, proteasome inhibitors and other classes of drug.

Boise earned a Ph.D. in pharmacology at the Medical College of Virginia and was a postdoc at the University of Michigan and the University of Chicago. Before joining the faculty at Emory, he was a professor and director of a graduate program in microbiology and immunology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine.

Maurine Linder

Maurine Linder, a professor and chair of the department of molecular medicine at Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine, has been elected chair of the society's division for molecular pharmacology.

Linder studies the activity of DHHC acyltransferases, which carry out the post-translational modification protein S-palmitoylation. Her lab is interested in how palmitoylation affects signaling and how DHHC enzymes are themselves regulated through post-translational modification. 

Linder earned her Ph.D. at the University of Texas at Dallas and was a postdoc and later an instructor at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. She was a professor at Washington University School of Medicine before joining the faculty at Cornell in 2009.

Enjoy reading ASBMB Today?

Become a member to receive the print edition monthly and the digital edition weekly.

Learn more
ASBMB Today Staff

This article was written by a member or members of the ASBMB Today staff.

Get the latest from ASBMB Today

Enter your email address, and we’ll send you a weekly email with recent articles, interviews and more.

Latest in People

People highlights or most popular articles

ASBMB delegates leave their mark on policymaking

ASBMB delegates leave their mark on policymaking

Dec. 1, 2022

Advocacy Training Program participants use their new skills to improve their institutional environments, create new programs, draft policy recommendations, perform targeted outreach and more.

2022 Sewer scholarship winners announced
Society News

2022 Sewer scholarship winners announced

Nov. 28, 2022

The $2,000 award goes to undergraduates who demonstrate an interest in the fields of biochemistry and molecular biology and enhance the diversity of science.

Brought to you (mostly) by and for women
Annual Meeting

Brought to you (mostly) by and for women

Nov. 23, 2022

The ASBMB’s Women in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Committee has big plans for Discover BMB 2023.

Dedicated to sharing science
Student Chapters

Dedicated to sharing science

Nov. 21, 2022

Introduced to scientific research through her Tufts University ASBMB Student Chapter, Lema Abuoqab works to make sure other students can have the same experience.

Tolbert named HHMI VP; new phase for Hannun
Member News

Tolbert named HHMI VP; new phase for Hannun

Nov. 21, 2022

Awards, promotions, milestones and more. Find out what's going on in the lives of ASBMB members.

What’s in the structural vaccine designer’s toolbox?

What’s in the structural vaccine designer’s toolbox?

Nov. 17, 2022

Structural biologist Jason McLellan, a researcher at UT Austin, has been recognized widely for his work on vaccine development. We asked him about the nuts and bolts of engineering the best antigen.