Awards, grants and fellowships

The ASBMB recognizes exceptional scientists with a range of prestigious awards, grants and fellowships. The society provides these opportunities to scientists at all career stages throughout the year.

ASBMB annual awards

ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education

Recognizes an individual who encourages effective teaching and learning of biochemistry and molecular biology.

ASBMB Leadership Awards

Recognizing individuals with a strong commitment to advancing the careers of women in biochemistry and molecular biology along with demonstrated excellence in research and/or service.

ASBMB–Merck Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to research in biochemistry and molecular biology.

ASBMB Young Investigator Award

Recognizes outstanding research contributions to biochemistry and molecular biology.

Avanti Award in Lipids

Recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids.

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science

Awarded to an established scientist for outstanding accomplishments in basic biomedical research.

DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences

Given to a scientist for the most accessible and innovative development or application of computer technology to enhance research in the life sciences at the molecular level. 

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award

Awarded to an established scientist for his or her outstanding achievement in basic research in the fields encompassed by the ASBMB.

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Young Scholar Award

Awarded to a scientist with 10 years or less of post-postdoctoral experience.

Herbert Tabor Research Award

Given for excellence in biological chemistry and molecular biology and contributions to the community of scientists.

Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry

Recognizes and honors scientists at all stages of their careers who have made substantial advances in understanding biological chemistry using innovative physical approaches.

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Honors an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of scientists from historically marginalized groups.

The Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology

Recognizes established investigators who are making seminal contributions to the field of molecular parasitology.

Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research

Recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids by a young investigator.

William C. Rose Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to biochemical and molecular biological research and a demonstrated commitment to the training of younger scientists.

Student Chapter awards

ASBMB Student Chapters Regional Meeting Award

Supports small scientific meetings hosted by individual chapters or in collaboration with other schools or chapters.

Outstanding Chapter Award

An $850 cash prize to support chapter activities.

Student Chapter Outreach Grant

Up to $500 in support of outreach activities in a chapter's local community.

ASBMB Undergraduate Research Award

$1,000 award that supports undergraduate students’ summer research projects.

Student Chapter Travel Award

Awarded to assist designated chapter members presenting research at DiscoverBMB, the ASBMB's annual meeting.

Other awards

Marion B. Sewer Distinguished Scholarship for Undergraduates

Provides up to $2,000 toward undergraduate tuition costs for one academic year.

Science Outreach and Communication Grant

A memberwide grant to encourage new or existing science outreach and communication activities.


PROLAB allows Latin American graduate students and postdoctoral fellows to spend up to six months in U.S. or Canadian laboratories.

ASBMB Science Fair Award

Recognizes outstanding achievement in biochemistry and molecular biology research by a middle or high school science student

Capitol Hill Day

Funding for trainees to visit Washington, D.C., to meet with their congressional leaders.