The Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology

Nomination deadline: April 30 Nominate

The Alice and C.C. Wang Award recognizes established investigators who are making seminal contributions to the field of molecular parasitology at the time of the award. Novel and significant discoveries on the biology of parasitic organisms are of particular emphasis. The areas of research to be awarded are limited to protozoan parasites but otherwise broadly defined, including but not limited to biochemistry, molecular biology, gene regulation, metabolism, cell biology, development biology and host–pathogen interactions.

Nominations must originate from ASBMB members; however, the nominee need not be an ASBMB member. Nominees should be internationally recognized scientific leaders who have made important discoveries in the field and continue active efforts at the cutting edge of research.

The award consists of $35,000 for use by the recipient’s research laboratory, a plaque and travel expenses for the recipient to attend the ASBMB annual meeting to present a lecture. In addition, the winner will organize a half-day symposium on molecular parasitology at the annual meeting.

Nomination process

Submit the following:

  1. Nomination letter listing nominee's achievements (not to exceed two pages)
  2. Condensed curriculum vitae or NIH Biosketch (note the Ph.D. or M.D. degree and date received)
  3. List of the nominee's five most significant publications
  4. Two letters of support (required)



David Roos


  • David Roos
Keith Matthews
Dyann Wirth


  • Keith Matthews & Dyann Wirth
John Boothroyd


  • John Boothroyd

Listen to the lecture

Patricia Johnson


  • Patricia Johnson

Watch the lecture

Dominique Soldati-Favre


  • Dominique Soldati-Favre

Listen to the lecture

Elizabeth A. Winzeler


  • Elizabeth A. Winzeler

Listen to the lecture

L. David Sibley


  • L. David Sibley

Listen to the lecture

Michael A. J. Ferguson


  • Michael A. J. Ferguson

Watch the lecture

Alan F. Cowman


  • Alan F. Cowman
Ken Stuart


  • Ken Stuart
Daniel E. Goldberg


  • Daniel E. Goldberg
Elisabetta Ullu


  • Elisabetta Ullu