2024 ASBMB Election


Chair in biomedical science and professor, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Department of Molecular Genetics


Russell DeBose–Boyd

Statement of interest

I have been a member of the ASBMB for the past 20 years, and my career has greatly benefited from the society through participation in the ASBMB annual meeting and the Deuel Conference on Lipids and as an author and member of the editorial team of ASBMB journals. I currently serve as an associate editor for the Journal of Lipid Research and as an editorial board member for the Journal of Biological Chemistry. I am particularly excited about my most recent role as a mentor for the ASBMB MOSAIC K99/00 program.

It has been an honor to contribute to the ASBMB as the interim treasurer since late fall of 2023; I am interested in continuing to serve the society in this capacity. I look forward to working with the Council, staff leadership and the Finance Committee to ensure the ASBMB remains on a solid financial foundation, allowing sustained growth of its journals and meetings as well as educational and professional-development programs for years to come.

Education and training

  • B.S., Chemistry, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, 1993
  • Ph.D., Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, 1998
  • Postdoctoral training, Lipid Metabolism, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, 1998–2001

Awards and honors

  • National Research Service Award, National Institutes of Health, 1996–1998
  • Jane Coffin Childs Memorial Postdoctoral Fellowship, 1998–2001
  • Career Development Award, National Institutes of Health, 2003–2007
  • Health Disparities Scholar, 2002–2010
  • Established Investigator of the American Heart Association, 2005–2010
  • Distinguished Young Scholar in Medical Research, W.M. Keck Foundation, 2006–2011
  • Early Career Scientist Award, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, 2009–2016
  • John J. Abel Award in Pharmacology, American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, 2010
  • Edwin L. Bierman Award, American Diabetes Association, 2021
  • ASBMB Avanti Award in Lipids, 2023
  • Member, National Academy of Sciences, 2023
  • Hill Prize in Biological Science, Texas Academy of Medicine, Engineering, Science, and Technology, 2024


I joined the faculty of the molecular genetics department at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center as an assistant professor in 2003. I became an established investigator of the American Heart Association in 2005 and a W.M. Keck Distinguished young scholar in medical research in 2006. I was promoted to associate professor in 2007, and I was appointed a Howard Hughes Medical Institute early-career scientist in 2009. In 2013, I was promoted to professor and was named the Beatrice and Miguel Elias distinguished chair in biomedical science in 2016.

  • Board of Directors, Kern Lipid Conference, 2008–2020
  • Editorial board member, Journal of Molecular Cell Biology, 2008–present
  • Member, ASBMB Meetings Committee, 2009–2012
  • Member, Membrane Biology and Protein Processing Study Section, National Institutes of Health, 2010–2014
  • Member, ASBMB Annual Meeting Program Planning Committee, 2012
  • Member, Keystone Symposia Scientific Advisory Board, 2013–2022
  • Editorial board member, Journal of Lipid Research, 2013–2017
  • Editorial board member, Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2014–present
  • Atherosclerosis and Vascular Inflammation Study Section, National Institutes of Health, 2015–2020
  • Associate editor, Journal of Lipid Research, 2017–present
  • Member, Gilliam Fellowship Selection Committee, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, 2018–present
  • Associate editor, Science Advances, 2021–present
  • Chair, Atherosclerosis and Vascular Inflammation Study Section, National Institutes of Health, 2020
  • Member, ASBMB Deuel Conference on Lipids board of directors, 2022–present
  • ASBMB Finance Committee, 2016–2023
  • ASBMB interim treasurer, 2023–present