Calendar

Share your science, and see colleagues!

If you’re an ASBMB Lipid Research Division member, let us know about the events at which you’ll be presenting or ones you’re excited about. Send info to lipidcorner@asbmb.org.

Virtual seminars

LRD seminar series: Lipids and lipid signaling

Every Friday at 2 PM (New York) | 1 PM (Chicago) | 11 AM (Los Angeles) 

7 PM (London) | 8 PM (Berlin) | 11:30 PM (New Delhi) | 3 AM (Tokyo, Saturday) | 2 AM (Singapore, Saturday) | 5 AM (Sydney, Saturday)

 LRD members John Burke of the University of Victoria and Mike Airola of Stony Brook University have organized a weekly online seminar series focused on providing opportunities to graduate students and postdocs who are missing the ability to give talks at conferences.

The meeting takes place via Zoom. To sign up to attend, add your name and email address to this Google sheet. To view recordings of past webinars, click here. If you’re interested in presenting, please contact John Burke. Here is the schedule through the end of July, with links to presenters’ publications: 

July 10 | Lipid metabolites in innate and cell-mediated immunity
Kristen Johnson, Radhakrishnan lab, UT Southwestern Medical Center
Dequina Nicholas, Nicholas lab, University of California San Diego

July 17 | Ancestral sequences, inherited neuropathies
C. Denise Okafor, Okafor lab, Penn State University
Linda Sawade, Haucke lab, Berlin University

 

Sphingolipids in physiology and pathology

Every Monday at 4:00-5:30 PM (London, Lisbon) | 5 PM (Geneva) | 11 AM (New York) | 10 AM (Chicago) | 8 AM (Los Angeles)

Christopher Clarke (Stony Brook Medicine), Giovanni D’Angelo (EPFL) and Liana C. Silva (Universidade de Lisboa) have organized a webinar series focused on sphingolipids, with support from LIPID MAPS and Avanti Polar Lipids. To attend an upcoming lecture, click on the title link to register. You can view past webinars here.

July 27
Sphingolipid control of oriented mitosis | Thomas Hannich (University of Geneva, Switzerland)
Annarita di Lorenzo (Cornell Medical College)

August 10
Stefanka Spassieva (University of Kentucky)
Structure and regulation of phospholipase D and lipin | Michael Airola (Stony Brook University)

In-person conference calendar

Many conferences have been canceled or postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic. For the most up-to-date information on whether a conference will take place as planned, please contact the meeting organizers. The calendar below was last updated on May 15, 2020.


August 31- Sept 2, 2020

Kern Lipid Conference | Therapeutic Aspects of Adipose Tissue Organ Crosstalk

This meeting has been canceled. 


September 27-30, 2020

Gerli Lipidomics Meeting

(Bordeaux, France)


September 29-October 2, 2020

European Lipidomics Meeting

(Regensburg, Germany)

This lipidomics-focused conference will include discussions of the transition to clinical lipidomics, current work on signalling lipidomics, and the global effort to harmonize lipidomics measurements. Click here for more details.


October 18-20, 2020

ICBL 2020 | Lipid dynamics: from molecular species to health and disease

(Utrecht, Netherlands)

This conference on the bioscience of lipids will feature sessions on lipid metabolism and lipids in disease, in addition to daily sessions on emerging technologies. Registration will be open from May 15 through August 15; the deadline to submit an abstract is July 1.


December 13-16, 2020

National Lipid Association | Scientific Sessions

(Chicago, Illinois) 

This clinically-focused meeting has been rescheduled from June 2020 and will take place in Chicago in December.


May 1-4, 2021

ASBMB Annual Meeting 

(Indianapolis, Indiana) 

The ASBMB’s Annual Meeting, held in conjunction with Experimental Biology, will take place in Indianapolis in May of 2021. Abstract submission for talks and posters will open in the fall of 2020. 


June 30-July 2, 2021

European workshop on lipid mediators

(Stockholm, Sweden) 

Rescheduled from June 2020, this biennial workshop is focused on bioactive lipid mediators. Plenary lectures will be given by Bengt Samuelsson of the Karolinska Instituet and Garret Fitzgerald of the University of Pennsylvania.


July 4-7, 2021

ISSFAL 2021 | Lipid dynamics: from molecular species to health and disease

(Nantes, France)

Rescheduled from 2020, the annual meeting of the International Society for the Study of Fats and Lipids will take place in July 2021. Check back for details in June, 2020.