2022 ASBMB Annual Awards

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2022 ASBMB Annual Awards.

The ASBMB Annual Awards are given to outstanding professionals who have been recognized by their peers for contributions to their fields, education and diversity. The recipients will give talks about their work at the 2022 ASBMB Annual Meeting.

See below for a list of available awards.

You must be a regular, industry, early-career, affiliate, graduate or emeritus member of the ASBMB to submit a nomination. Not a member? Join now! 

Before you submit your nominations, make sure you have all the required files available in PDF format. You will receive a confirmation email once your submission is complete.

Here's an overview of the five-step submission process:

  1. General information and log in (email address and ASBMB password)
  2. Nominator contact information
  3. Award information and award selection
  4. Nominee contact information
  5. Submit the following documents (PDFs only )
    • Nomination letter listing nominee's achievements (not to exceed two pages)
    • Condensed curriculum vitae or NIH BIO Sketch
    • List of the nominee's five most significant publications
    • Letters of support (optional; three at maximum)
Application deadline: May 24 Apply now

2022 awards

ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education

Recognizes an individual who encourages effective teaching and learning of biochemistry and molecular biology.

ASBMB Leadership Awards

Recognizing individuals with a strong commitment to advancing the careers of women in biochemistry and molecular biology along with demonstrated excellence in research, discovery and/or service.

ASBMB–Merck Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to research in biochemistry and molecular biology.

ASBMB Young Investigator Award

Recognizes outstanding research contributions to biochemistry and molecular biology.

Avanti Award in Lipids

Recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids.

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science

Awarded to an established scientist for outstanding accomplishments in basic biomedical research.

DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences

Given to a scientist for the most accessible and innovative development or application of computer technology to enhance research in the life sciences at the molecular level. 

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award

Awarded to an established scientist for his or her outstanding achievement in basic research in the fields encompassed by the ASBMB.

Herbert Tabor Research Award

Given for excellence in biological chemistry and molecular biology and contributions to the community of scientists.

Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry

Recognizes and honors scientists at all stages of their careers who have made substantial advances in understanding biological chemistry using innovative physical approaches.

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Honors an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of underrepresented minorities in the scientific enterprise.

Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research

Recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids by a young investigator.

William C. Rose Award

Recognizes outstanding contributions to biochemical and molecular biological research and a demonstrated commitment to the training of younger scientists.