2023 ASBMB Election

Conaway, Joan

Professor, Vice Provost and Dean of Basic Research, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center


Joan Conaway

Statement of interest

I’ve been an ASBMB member since the late 1980s and have benefited from society activities through regular participation in the ASBMB annual meeting and ASBMB small meetings and conferences and as a reader, author and member of the editorial team of ASBMB journals. In short, the ASBMB has been an important part of my scientific and professional life.

I would welcome the opportunity to work with ASBMB’s Council, committee members, staff and leadership to grow and sustain the society through initiatives to enhance recruitment of the next generation of its members and support its journals, meetings, educational and professional development, scientific outreach and other programs. With past service as an ASBMB Council member, member and chair of the Meetings Committee, Finance Committee member, and, most recently, Treasurer, I believe I am well positioned to help the society meet its challenges and seize opportunities as we transition to the new world of open access publishing and independent annual meetings.

Education and training

  • A.B., Bryn Mawr College
  • Ph.D., Stanford University School of Medicine
  • Postdoc, DNAX Research Institute of Cellular and Molecular Biology

Awards and honors

  • Member, National Academy of Sciences (2020)
  • Fellow, American Academy of Arts & Sciences (2002)
  • ASBMB–Amgen Award (1997)


  • Professor of Molecular Biology and Cecil H. Green Distinguished Chair in Cellular & Molecular Biology and Vice Provost and Dean of Basic Research, UT Southwestern Medical Center (2021 to present)
  • Investigator and Helen Nelson Distinguished Chair, Stowers Institute for Medical Research (2005 to 2021)
  • Investigator, Stowers Institute for Medical Research (2001 to 2021)
  • Professor (Affiliate), Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, University of Kansas Medical Center (2001 to 2021)
  • Interim Head, Progam in Molecular Cellular Biology, Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation (2000)
  • Associate Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute (1997 to 2001)
  • Assistant, Associate, Full Member, Progam in Molecular Cellular Biology, Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation (1989 to 2001)
  • Adjunct Assistant Professor, Professor, Deptment of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, University of Oklahoma Health Science Center (1991 to 2001)
  • Research Associate & Lecturer, Clayton Foundation Biochemistry Institute, Dept of Chemistry, University of Texas at Austin.
  • Science Advisory Board, IGBMC, Strasbourg, France (2010 present)
  • Bd of Sci Counselors-Basic Sci, NCI, NIH, 2010-2015 (Chair, 2011 to 2015)
  • Co-chair, Intramural Long-Term Planning Committee, NCI, NIH (2014)
  • Editorial Committee, Annu Rev Biochem (2007 to 2021)
  • Associate Editor, Journal of Biological Chemistry (1999 to 2014)
  • Editorial Board, Journal of Biological Chemistry (1993 to 1998)
  • NIH Molecular Biology Study Section (1993 to 1998)
  • ASBMB Nominations Committee (1999 to 2002)
  • ASBMB Program Committee (2001)
  • ASBMB Council (2004 to 2007)
  • ASBMB Meetings Committee (2002 to 2004; 2006 to 2009)
  • Chair, ASBMB Meetings Committee (2009 to 2012)
  • ASBMB Annual Meeting Co-chair (2002 and 2009)
  • ASBMB Finance Committee (2016 to present)
  • ASBMB Treasurer (2019 to present)
  • Research: molecular mechanisms of RNA polymerase II transcription and regulation.