Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 ASBMB Annual Meeting, the 2020 Annual Awards will be presented at the 2021 ASBMB Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

There will be no 2021 awards.

Nominations for the 2022 ASBMB Annual Awards will open in early 2021.

The Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry recognizes and honors scientists at all stages of their careers who have made substantial advances in understanding biological chemistry using innovative physical approaches.

Nominations must originate with society members, but the nominees need not be ASBMB members. 

The award will be given annually and consists of a plaque, $5,000 and travel expenses for the ASBMB annual meeting to present a lecture.

The Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry was established to honor the pioneering scientific accomplishments and the spirit of the late Professor Cohn. Dr. Cohn was the first female president of the ASBMB, which at the time was known as the American Society of Biological Chemists.


Carol Fierke


  • Carol Fierke
Angela M. Gronenborn


  • Angela M. Gronenborn

Listen to the award lecture

Leemor Joshua-Tor


  • Leemor Joshua-Tor

Listen to the award lecture

Eva Nogales


  • Eva Nogales

Watch the award lecture

Judith P. Klinman


  • Judith P. Klinman
Lila Gierasch


  • Lila Gierasch
Jennifer A. Doudna


  • Jennifer A. Doudna