Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 ASBMB Annual Meeting, the 2020 Annual Awards will be presented at the 2021 ASBMB Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

There will be no 2021 awards.

Nominations for the 2022 ASBMB Annual Awards will open in early 2021.

The Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award was established to honor an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of underrepresented minorities to enter the scientific enterprise and/or to the effective mentorship of those within it.

The award consists of a plaque, a cash prize of $3,000 and travel expenses to present a lecture at the annual ASBMB meeting. The recipient will be chosen by the ASBMB Minority Affairs Committee

Nominations must come from society members; however, the nominee need not be an ASBMB member.

Lizabeth Allison


  • Lizabeth Allison
Douglas Robinson


  • Douglas Robinson

Listen to the award lecture

Avery August


  • Avery August

Watch the award lecture

JoAnn Trejo


  • JoAnn Trejo
Freeman A. Hrabowski
Michael Summers


  • Freeman A. Hrabowski & Michael Summers
Peter Blumberg


  • Peter Blumberg
Lovell A. Jones


  • Lovell A. Jones
Arthur Gutierrez–Hartmann


  • Arthur Gutierrez–Hartmann