The Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 ASBMB Annual Meeting, the 2020 Annual Awards will be presented at the 2021 ASBMB Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

There will be no 2021 awards.

Nominations for the 2022 ASBMB Annual Awards will open in early 2021.

The Alice and C.C. Wang Award recognizes established investigators who are making seminal contributions to the field of molecular parasitology at the time of the award. Novel and significant discoveries on the biology of parasitic organisms are of particular emphasis. The areas of research to be awarded are limited to protozoan parasites but otherwise broadly defined, including but not limited to biochemistry, molecular biology, gene regulation, metabolism, cell biology, development biology and host-pathogen interactions.

Nominations must come from ASBMB members, and self-nominations are acceptable. Nominees should be internationally recognized scientific leaders who have made important discoveries in the field and continue active efforts at the cutting edge of research.

The award consists of $35,000 for use by the recipient’s research laboratory, a plaque and travel expenses for the recipient to attend the ASBMB annual meeting to present a lecture. In addition, the winner will organize a half-day symposium on molecular parasitology at the annual meeting.


Patricia Johnson


  • Patricia Johnson
Dominique Soldati-Favre


  • Dominique Soldati-Favre

Listen to the award lecture

Elizabeth A. Winzeler


  • Elizabeth A. Winzeler

Listen to the award lecture

L. David Sibley


  • L. David Sibley

Listen to the award lecture

Michael A. J. Ferguson


  • Michael A. J. Ferguson

Watch the award lecture

Alan F. Cowman


  • Alan F. Cowman
Ken Stuart


  • Ken Stuart
Daniel E. Goldberg


  • Daniel E. Goldberg
Elisabetta Ullu


  • Elisabetta Ullu