2025 ASBMB Annual Awards

Nomination deadline: April 30

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2025 ASBMB Annual Awards.

The ASBMB Annual Awards are given to outstanding professionals who have been recognized by their peers for contributions to their fields, education and diversity. The recipients give talks about their work at DiscoverBMB, the ASBMB annual meeting.

You must be a regular, industry, early-career, affiliate, graduate or emeritus member of the ASBMB to submit a nomination. Not a member? Join now!

Nomination process

Select an award below and submit the following:

  1. Nomination letter listing nominee's achievements (not to exceed two pages)
  2. Condensed curriculum vitae or NIH Biosketch (note the Ph.D. or M.D. degree and date received)
  3. List of the nominee's five most significant publications
  4. Two letters of support (required)

Please use the member directory to verify that the nominee is an active member of the ASBMB.

Available awards

ASBMB Herbert Tabor Research Award

Given for outstanding, innovative accomplishments in biological chemistry and molecular biology and contributions to the community of scientists.

ASBMB DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences

Given to a scientist for accessible and innovative developments or applications of computation to enhance research in the life sciences at the molecular or cellular level.

ASBMB Emerging Leadership Award

Recognizes individuals with a strong commitment to advancing the careers of women in biochemistry and molecular biology along with demonstrated excellence in research and/or service.

ASBMB Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Honors an outstanding scientist who has shown a sustained commitment to breaking down local and/or systemic barriers against scientists and students from historically marginalized or excluded groups.

ASBMB William C. Rose Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education

Recognizes an individual who demonstrates an exceptional contribution to the teaching of biochemistry and molecular biology.

Avanti Award in Lipids

Recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids.

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science

Awarded to an established scientist for outstanding accomplishments in basic biomedical research.

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Young Scholar Award

Awarded to a scientist with no more than 15 years of experience since receiving a Ph.D. and/or M.D.

The Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology

Recognizes established investigators who are making seminal contributions to the field of molecular parasitology.

Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research

Recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids by a young investigator.