Fostering Partnerships between Colleges, Universities and K-12 Schools 2012 Workshop

Saturday, April 21, 2012
9:00 am – 1:00 pm
(lunch will be provided)
San Diego Marriott Marquis Hotel
Santa Rosa Room, 1st Floor of the South Tower
333 West Harbor Drive · San Diego, California 92101 

The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB) Hands-on Opportunities to Promote Engagement in Science (HOPES) program is kicking off its second annual workshop, Fostering Partnerships between Colleges, Universities and K-12 Schools, in San Diego as part of the 2012 ASBMB Annual Meeting. The workshop targets junior high and high school teachers and college/university faculty and researchers to promote collaborative partnerships that bring creative, cutting-edge, and hands-on science into K-12 classrooms.

This workshop is especially designed for teachers, faculty and researchers from the San Diego and southern California region, but is open to anyone interested in science education.  Registration is free and lunch will be provided.  Speakers will showcase successful existing partnerships between K-12 schools and colleges/universities, as well as generate ideas for partnerships in the San Diego and southern California region.  Attendees will also be able to participate in a hands-on science demonstration. 

In April 2011, the ASBMB HOPES program held its inaugural workshop in Washington, D.C. and awarded ten $2000 mini-grants to support teaching collaborations across the country.  2012 workshop attendees will also receive information regarding the 2012 ASBMB HOPES mini-grant applications available in May, 2012.  An ASBMB sponsored luncheon and networking session will conclude the workshop.

Download a copy of the workshop agenda

Download a copy of the workshop evaluation    

The HOPES Committee:
Regina Stevens-Truss, Chair (Kalamazoo College) 
Jeremy Thorner (University of California, Berkeley) 
Bob Dutnall (University of San Diego) 
Peter Kennelly (Virginia Tech University) 
Ishara Mills-Henry (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) 
Tim Herman (Milwaukee School of Engineering) 
Weiyi Zhao (ASBMB)

Questions? Contact us

Click here for more information about the 2011 ASBMB HOPES mini-grant finalists.