Award Lectures

Congratulations to the 2020 ASBMB award winners!

The winners were nominated by colleagues and other leaders in their fields for making significant contributions to biochemistry and molecular biology and the training of emerging scientists. They will give talks about their work at the 2020 ASBMB annual meeting, April 4–7 in San Diego, held in conjunction with the Experimental Biology conference.

Paul Black

ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education

A revolution in biochemistry education informed by basic research to meet the demands of 21st century career paths
Paul Black, University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Manajit Hayer-Hartl

ASBMB–Merck Award

Cellular machineries devoted to rubisco — the most abundant enzyme
Manajit Hayer-Hartl, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry

Jean Schaffer

Avanti Award in Lipids

Death by lipids: Role of non-coding RNAs in metabolic stress
Jean Schaffer, Joslin Diabetes Center at Harvard University

Patricia Johnson

Alice and C. C. Wang Award

Host parasite interactions between the sexually-transmitted parasite trichomonas vaginalis and its human host
Patricia Johnson, University of California, Los Angeles

Edward Dennis

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science

Enzyme hydrophobic sites and allosteric membrane interactions regulate signaling and mediators of inflammation
Edward Dennis, University of California, San Diego

Yang Zhang

Delano Award for Computational Biosciences

Towards the solution of the protein structure prediction problem
Yang Zhang, University of Michigan

David Pagliarini

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Young Scholar Award

Wiring the powerhouse: systems-to-structure approaches for defining mitochondrial protein function
David Pagliarini, Morgridge Institute for Research

Kevin Campbell

Herbert Tabor Research Award

Structural basis of dystroglycan function and the pathogenesis of muscular dystrophy
Kevin Campbell, University of Iowa

Carol Fierke

Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry

Toolbox to evaluate biological function of histone deacetylases
Carol Fierke, Texas A&M University

Lizabeth Allison

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Getting there: Thyroid hormone receptor intracellular trafficking
Lizabeth Allison, William & Mary

Jeremy Baskin

Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award

Chemical tools that IMPACT phospholipid signaling
Jeremy Baskin, Cornell University

Celia Schiffer

William C. Rose Award

Constraining evolution → avoiding drug resistance: Lessons from viruses
Celia Schiffer, University of Massachusetts Medical School