The Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology


WangsThe Alice and C. C. Wang Award recognizes established investigators who are making seminal contributions to the field of molecular parasitology at the time of the award. Novel and significant discoveries on the biology of parasitic organisms are of particular emphasis. The areas of research to be awarded are limited to protozoan parasites, but otherwise broadly defined, including, but not limited to, biochemistry, molecular biology, gene regulation, metabolism, cell biology, development biology and host–pathogen interactions. Nominations must come from ASBMB members, and self-nominations are acceptable. Nominees should be internationally recognized scientific leaders who have made important discoveries in the field and continue active efforts at the cutting edge of research. The award will consist of $35,000 for use by the recipient’s research laboratory, a plaque and travel expenses for the recipient to attend the ASBMB annual meeting to present a lecture. In addition, the winner will organize a half-day symposium on molecular parasitology at the annual meeting.


2018 - Elizabeth A. Winzeler
2017 – L. David Sibley
2016 – Michael A. J. Ferguson
2015 – Alan F. Cowman
2014 – Ken Stuart
2013 – Daniel E. Goldberg
2012 – Elisabetta Ullu