Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry

The Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry was established to honor the pioneering scientific accomplishments and the spirit of the late Professor Cohn. Dr. Cohn was the first female president of ASBMB, at the time known as the American Society of Biological Chemists. The award recognizes and honors scientists at all stages of their careers that have made substantial advances in understanding biological chemistry using innovative physical approaches. Nominations must be originated by society members, but the nominees need not be ASBMB members. The award will be given annually and consists of an award, $5,000 and travel expenses to the ASBMB Annual Meeting to present the Mildred Cohn Award lecture.


  • 2020 – Carol Fierke
  • 2019 – Angela M. Gronenborn
  • 2018 – Leemor Joshua-Tor
  • 2017 – Wei Yang
  • 2016 – Eva Nogales
  • 2015 – Judith P. Klinman
  • 2014 – Lila M. Gierasch
  • 2013 – Jennifer A. Doudna