Council Members


Officers 

Gerald Hart President (2018-2020)
Georgia Research Alliance
William Henry Terry, Sr. Eminent Scholar in Drug Discovery
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
Tel: 706-583-5550
Email: gwhart13@me.com 

Toni M. Antalis  President-elect
Department of Physiology, Center for Vascular Biology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Bio Park, Bldg. One - Room 220
800 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Tel: 410-706-8222
Fax: 410-706-8121
Email: tantalis@som.umaryland.edu

Joan Conaway — Treasurer (2020–2023)  
Stowers Institute for Medical Research
1000 E 50th Street
 Kansas City, Missouri 64110
Tel: 816-926-4093
Email: jlc@stowers.org

Wei Yang  Secretary (20202023)
Distinguished Investigator and Section Chief
National Institutes of Health
E-mail: wei.yang@nih.gov

 

Voting Members

Suzanne Barbour (2020-2023)
Professor/Dean of Graduate School
University of Georgia
Email: sbarbour@uga.edu

Joan Broderick (2020-2023)
Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Montana State University

Email: jbroderick@chemistry.montana.edu

Matthew S. Gentry (2020-2023)
Chair, Public Affairs Advisory Committee
Associate Professor
University of Kentucky
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
BBSRB Building
741 S. Limestone, B278
Lexington, KY 40536-0509
Tel: 859.323.8482
Email: matthew.gentry@uky.edu  

Blake Hill (2017-2020)
Department of Biochemistry
Medical College of Wisconsin
 8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Tel: 414-955-5885
Fax: 414-955-6510
Email: rbhill@mcw.edu  

Audrey Lamb (2018-2022)
Department of Molecular Biosciences
University of Kansas
5060 Haworth Hall
Lawrence, KS 66045
Tel: 785-864-5075
Email: lamb@ku.edu

James M. Ntambi (2018-2022)
Departments of Biochemistry and Nutritional Sciences
University of Wisconsin-Madison
433 Babcock Drive
Madison WI 53706
Tel: 608-265-3700
Fax: 608-265-3272
Email: james.ntambi@wisc.edu

   

Takita Felder Sumter (20172020)
Department of Chemistry, Physics and Geology
Sims Science Building 314-A
Winthrop University
Rock Hill, SC 29733
Tel: 803-323-4991
Email: sumtert@winthrop.edu

Kelly Ten-Hagen (2018-2022)
Developmental Glycobiology Section, NIDCR
NIH
Building 30, Room 407
30 Convent Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-451-6318
Email: kh253o@nih.gov

JoAnn Trejo (2017-2020)
Department of Pharmacology
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive #0636
La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: 858-246-0150
Email: jotrejo@ucsd.edu  

 

Non-Voting Members

Cheryl Bailey (2016–2019) 
Chair, Education and Professional Development Committee
Mount Mary University
School of Natural and Health Sciences
Milwaukee, WI
Tel: 414-258-4810, ext. 388
Email: baileyc@mtmary.edu

Susan J. Baserga (2020–2023)
Chair, Women in Biochemistry and Microbiology Committee
Yale University
Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry
SHM 114A, 333 Cedar Street
PO BOX 20824
New Haven, CT 06520-8024
Email: susan.baserga@yale.edu

A. L. Burlingame 
Editor, Molecular and Cellular Proteomics
Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Mass Spectrometry Facility
Genentech Hall, Room N472
University of California, San Francisco
600 16th Street, Box 2240
San Francisco, CA 94158-2240
Tel: 415 476-5641
Fax: 415 476-0688
Email: alb@cgl.ucsf.edu 

Nicholas O. Davidson (2019-2024)
Co-Editor, Journal of Lipid Research
Gastroenterology Division
Washington University
Campus Box 8124
660 South Euclid
St. Louis, MO 63110
Tel: 314-747-2066
Fax: 314-362-2033
Email: nod@wustl.edu

Sonia Flores (2017–2020) 
Chair, Minority Affairs Committee
Pulmonary Division
Vice Chair of Diversity and Justice
Department of Medicine
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Email: sonia.flores@ucdenver.edu  

Lila Gierasch 
Editor, Journal of Biological Chemistry
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
710 N. Pleasant Street
Amherst. MA 01003
Tel: 413-545-6094
Email: gierasch@biochem.umass.edu 

Peter Kennelly (2016–2019) 
Chair, Membership Committee
Department of Biochemistry
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0308
Tel: 540-231-4317
Fax: 540-231-9070
Email:  pjkennel@vt.edu 

Daniel M. Raben (2016–2019) 
Chair, Meetings Committee
Department of Biological Chemistry
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
725 North Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21205
Tel: 410-955-1289
Fax: 410-614-8729
Email: draben@jhmi.edu 

Rajini Rao (2017–2019)
Chair, ASBMB Today Editorial Advisory Board
Professor and director, Graduate Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine   
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Department of Physiology
201/204 Wood Basic Science Building  
725 N. Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205 
Tel: 410-955-4732                                                                                                                          
Email: rao@jhmi.edu  

Kerry-Anne Rye (2019-2024)
Co-Editor, Journal of Lipid Research
University of New South Wales
School of Medical Sciences
Level 4E, Wallace Wurth Building
High St, Kensington
Sydney NSW 2052
Australia
Tel: +61 2 9385 1219
Fax: +61 2 9385 1389
Email: k.rye@unsw.edu.au

Herbert Tabor
Co-Editor, Journal of Biological Chemistry
11200 Rockville Pike, Suite 302
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 240 283-6620
Fax: 301 881-2458
Email: htabor@asbmb.org

Sandra Weller (20162021)
Chair, Publications Committee
University of Connecticut Health Center
Email:weller@nso2.uchc.edu

Nicole Woitowich (2020-2023)
Chair, Committee on Science Outreach and Communication
Northwestern University
Director of Science Outreach and Education, Women's Health Research Institute
6820 W Raven
Unit 6A
Chicago, IL 60631
Email: nicole.woitowich@gmail.com

Barbara A. Gordon
ASBMB Executive Director
11200 Rockville Pike, Suite 302
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 240-283-6600
Fax: 301-881-2080
Email: bgordon@asbmb.org