ASBMB elects officers
and council members

Committees welcome new members, name new chairs

Published October 01 2019

Members of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology have elected new officers and council members, and the society’s committees have appointed new members and leaders.


Toni Antalis  

Toni Antalis is serving for one year, starting in August, as president-elect, followed by two years as president and then one year as past-president. She previously served two three-year terms as ASBMB treasurer and chaired the Publications Committee. Antalis is a professor of physiology at the University of Maryland School of Medicine, where she is also the associate director for training and education and the director of the program in molecular medicine and the graduate program in life sciences. Her lab’s research is focused on signaling mechanisms involved in vascular disease and cancer.

Wei Yang  

Wei Yang is serving a three-year term, also beginning in August, as secretary. She received the society’s Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry in 2017 and served as co-chair of the 2016 ASBMB Annual Meeting. Yang is an investigator and section chief at the National Institutes of Health, where her lab focuses on the structural characterization of proteins involved in DNA mismatch repair and translesion DNA synthesis.


Council members

Suzanne Barbour  

Suzanne Barbour, a past member of the Education and Professional Development Committee, is dean of the graduate school and a professor of biochemistry and biophysics and at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Barbour also has served on the Minority Affairs Committee.

Joan Broderick  

Joan Broderick, previously a member of the Nominating Committee, is a professor of chemistry and biochemistry at Montana State University. Her lab uses biochemical, spectroscopic and synthetic approaches to elucidate detailed chemical mechanisms for metal catalysts.

Matthew Gentry  

Matthew Gentry, formerly chair of the Public Affairs Advisory Committee, is a professor of molecular and cellular biology at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine. His lab studies the role of signal transduction machinery, namely phosphatases and E3 ubiquitin ligases, in neurodegenerative disease and biofuels research.



Kevin Campbell of the University of Iowa College of Medicine was appointed to the Awards Committee.

Christopher Heinen of the University of Connecticut School of Medicine, Margaret Kanipes of North Carolina A&T State University and Saumya Ramanathan of Fisk University were named to the Education and Professional Development Committee.

Edward Eisenstein of the University of Maryland, a current member of the Membership Committee, has been named chair of that committee. He previously served on the outreach committee. Peter Kennelly of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, a past member of the Education and Professional Development Committee, has become past chair of the Membership Committee. Joseph Provost of the University of San Diego, also a past member of the EPD, has been appointed to the Membership Committee.

Celia Schiffer of the University of Massachusetts Medical School and Nicholas Tonks of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory have been named to the Nominations Committee.

Terri Goss Kinzy of Western Michigan University has been named chair of the Public Affairs Advisory Committee. Ronald Wek of Indiana University School of Medicine was appointed to the committee.

Robert Haltiwanger of the University of Georgia, a co-chair of the 2020 ASBMB Annual Meeting, was elected to the Publications Committee.

Nicole Woitowich of Northwestern University was named chair of the Science Outreach and Communication Committee. John Tansey of Otterbein University, Christina Marvin of the University of Wisconsin–Madison and Amy J. Hawkins of University of Utah have been appointed to the committee.

Chad Park of the University of Arizona has been named to the Student Chapters Committee as the southwest regional director.

Chad Slawson of the University of Kansas Medical Center and Blanton S. Tolbert of Case Western Reserve University have been appointed to the Meetings Committee.

Vahe Bandarian of the University of Utah and Ruma Banerjee of the University of Michigan Medical School have been named to the Minority Affairs Committee.