• ASBMB 2016 Annual Meeting

Parasitology Wang Award Symposium

WangsThe Alice and C. C. Wang Award will recognize established investigators who are making seminal contributions to the field of molecular parasitology at the time of the award. Novel and significant discoveries on the biology of parasitic organisms are of particular emphasis. The areas of research to be awarded are limited to protozoan parasites, but otherwise broadly defined, including, but not limited to, biochemistry, molecular biology, gene regulation, metabolism, cell biology, development biology and host-pathogen interactions. Nominations must be originated by ASBMB members and self nominations are acceptable. The Award recipient should be an internationally recognized scientific leader who has already made important discoveries in the field and continues an active effort at the cutting edge of research. The Award will consist of $35,000 for use by the recipient’s research laboratory, a plaque, and travel expenses for the recipient to attend the ASBMB Annual Meeting to present a lecture on his or her work. In addition, the winner of the award will organize a half day symposium at the ASBMB national meeting focusing on molecular parasitology.  

2016 Alice and C.C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology Lecture and Symposium
Monday, April 4, 2016
San Diego Convention Center, Room 1A
9:45 am - 12:00 pm

Award Lecturer:
Michael A.J. Ferguson
University of Dundee
Translating the cell surface

Invited Speakers:
Monica Mugnier
The Rockefeller University
Tracking the in vivo dynamics of antigenic variation in Trypanosoma brucei

Malcolm McConville
University of Melbourne
Carbon metabolism of parasitic protozoa; a key contributor to pathogenesis

Margaret Phillips
UT Southwestern Medical Center
A clinical candidate targeting dihydroorotate dehydrogenase for the treatment of malaria 

Past Wang Award Recipients: 

  • 2015 - Alan F. Cowman
  • 2014 - Ken Stuart
  • 2013 - Daniel E. Goldberg