Member Login


ASBMB History

VIDEO: John Abel
Lecture, 1930

ASBMB Centennial Videos

Herbert Tabor

Mildred Cohn

Arthur Kornberg

More videos 

Public Affairs Advisory Committee

PAAC Members

Voting Members (Term) 

Bettie Sue Masters, Chair (2011-2014) 
Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
Department of Biochemistry
University of Texas Health Sciences Center
7703 Floyd Curl Drive, MSC7760
San Antonio, TX 78229-3900
Tel: 210/567-6627
Fax: 210/567-6984

Ronald Bach (2010-2013)
Research Health Science
Minneapolis VA Medical Center
Research  Science (151)
One Veterans Drive
Minneapolis, MN 55417-2300
Tel:  612/467-4418
Fax:  612/725-2093

Thomas Baldwin (2009-2012)
University of California Riverside
Col of Natural and Agricultural Sciences
900 University Ave
302 College Bldg North
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: 951/827-3101
Fax: 951/827-4190

Benjamin F. Cravatt (2011-2012)
Skaggs Institute of Chemical Physiology
Scripps Research Institute
10550 N. Torrey Pines Road, BCC128
La Jolla, CA 92037
Tel:  858/784-8633

Richard L. Eckert (2009-2012) [ASBMB Representative to FASEB Science Policy Committee]
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
108 N. Greene Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Tel: 410/706-3220
Fax: 410/706-8297

Susan L. Forsburg (2010-2013)
Professor, Molecular & Computational Biology
University of Southern California RRI 201
1050 Childs Way
Los Angeles CA 90089-2910
Tel: 213/740-7342

Lee Gehrke (2009-2012)
Mass Institute of Technology
Building E25-406
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02139
Tel:  617/253-7608
Fax:  509/357-7835

Rachel Green (2010-2013)
Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
HHMI/Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
725 N. Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21205
Tel:  410/614-4922
Lab: 410/614-4928
Fax: 410./955-9124

Laura Kiessling (2010-2013)
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Wisconsin-Madison
1101 University Avenue
Madison, WI 53706
Tel:  608/262-0541
Fax:  608/265-0764

John M. Kyriakis (2011-2014)
Molecular Cardiology Research Institute
Tufts Medical Center
800 Washington Street
Boston, MA 02111
Tel: 617/636-5190
Fax: 617/636-5204

Mark Lively (2011-2013)
Department of Biochemistry
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, NC 27157-1016
Tel: 336/716-2969
Fax:  336/716-7200

C. Robert Matthews (2011-2014)
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacy
364 Plantation Street
Worcester, MA 01605
Tel: 508/856-2251
Fax: 508/856-8358

Robert E. Palazzo (2011-2014)
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Provost Office
Troy Building, 3rd Floor
110 8th Street
Troy, NY 12180
Tel: 518/276-6487
Fax: 518/276-4061

Leslie Parise (2011-2014)
University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
120 Mason Farm Rd, CB #7260
3016 Genetic Medicine Bldg
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7260
Tel: 919/962-2238
Fax: 919/966-2852

Janet M. Shaw (2011-2012)
University of Utah School of Medicine
15 N Medical Drive East, Room 4100
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-5650
Tel:  801/585-6205
Fax:  801/581-7959


Ex Officio (Non-Voting) Members 


Jeremy M. Berg– President-elect (2011-2012)
Vice Chancellor for Science Strategy and Planning in the Health Sciences
University of Pittsburgh
Scaife Hall, S304
3550 Terrace Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Tel: 412/624-1223

Gregory A. Petsko
Departments of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Brandeis University Rosensteil Center
415 South Street, MS 029
Waltham, MA 02454-9110
Tel: 781-736-4903
Fax: 781-736-2405

Suzanne Pfeffer – President (2010-2012)
Stanford University School of Medicine
Department of Biochemistry, B-400
279 Campus Drive, MC 5307
Stanford, CA 94305-5307
Tel: 650/723-6169
Fax: 650/723-6783

William Merrick, Past-Chair (2011- 2012)
Department of Biochemistry
Case Western Reserve University
School of Medicine
Cleveland, OH 44106-4935
Tel: 216/368-3578
Fax: 216/368-4544

Peter Rubenstein- ASBMB Representative to the FASEB Board of Directors (2011-2012)
University of Iowa
Department of Biochemistry
Bowen Science Building
Iowa City, IA 52242-1109
Tel: 319/335-7911
Fax: 319/335-9570

Staff Liaison


Benjamin Corb
Director of Public Affairs
American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
11200 Rockville Pike, Suite 302
Rockville, MD 20852-3110
Tel: 240/283-6625
Fax: 301/881-2080