Member Login


ASBMB History

VIDEO: John Abel
Lecture, 1930

ASBMB Centennial Videos

Herbert Tabor

Mildred Cohn

Arthur Kornberg

More videos 

Council Members


Natalie Ahn - President  (2016-2018)
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Colorado at Boulder
Campus Box 215
Boulder. CO 80309-0215
Tel: 303-492-4799
Fax: 303-492-2439

Steven McKnight - Past President (2016-2017)
Department of Biochemistry
UT Southwestern Medical Center
5323 Harry Hines Blvd.
Dallas, TX 75390-9152
Tel: 214-648-3342

Toni M. Antalis - Treasurer (2015–2018)
Department of Physiology, Center for Vascular Biology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Bio Park, Bldg. One - Room 220
800 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Tel: 410-706-8222
Fax: 410-706-8121

Jennifer DuBois - Secretary (2016-2019)
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Montana State University
221 Chem and Biochem Research Building,
Bozeman, Montana 59717
Tel: 406-994-2844


Voting Members

Squire Booker (2016-2019)
Departments of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
104 Chemistry Building
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA 16802
Tel: 814-865-8793
Fax: 814-865-2927

Victoria J. DeRose (2016-2019)
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
1253 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403
Tel: 541-346-3568

Wayne Fairbrother (2015–2018)
Director, Early Discovery Biochemistry
Genentech, Inc.
1 DNA Way
South San Francisco, CA 94080
(650) 225-1000

Karen G. Fleming (2014-2017)
416 Jenkins Hall
Thomas C. Jenkins Department of Biophysics
Johns Hopkins University
3400 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21218
Tel: 410-516-7256

Rachel Green (2015–2018)
Department of Molecular Biology & Genetics
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
725 North Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21205
Office: 410-614-4922

Susan Marqusee (2015–2018)
University of California, Berkeley
QB3 Institute
592 Stanley Hall #3220
University of California
Berkeley, CA 94720-3220
Phone: (510) 642-7678

Jared Rutter (2014-2017)
University of Utah School of Medicine
Department of Biochemistry
15 N Medical Drive East, Room 5200
Salt Lake City, UT 84112-5650
Tel: 801-581-3340

Celia A. Schiffer (2016-2019)
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
University of Massachusetts Medical School 
364 Plantation St
Worcester, MA 01605
Tel: 508-856-8008

Michael Summers (2014-2017)
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Department of Chemistry
100 Hilltop Circle
182 Chemistry Building
Baltimore, MD 20250
Tel: 410-455-2527

Non-Voting Members

Thomas Baldwin (2015–2018)
Chair, Public Outreach Committee
College of Natural and Agricultural Science
University of California, Riverside
Riverside , CA 92521
Tel: 951-827-4597

Cheryl Bailey (2016–2019)
Chair, Education and Professional Development Committee
Mount Mary University
School of Natural and Health Sciences
Milwaukee, WI
Tel: 414-258-4810, ext. 388

Amnon Kohen (2016-2019)
Chair, Publications Committee
Department of Chemistry
The University of Iowa
E331 Chemistry Building
Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1294
Tel: 319-335-0234

Daniel M. Raben (2015-2018)
Chair, Meetings Committee
Department of Biological Chemistry
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
725 North Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21205
Tel: 410-955-1289
Fax: 410-614-8729

Takita Felder Sumter (2012-2016)
Chair, Minority Affairs Committee
Department of Chemistry, Physics and Geology
Sims Science Building 314-A
Winthrop University
Rock Hill, SC 29733
Tel: 803-323-4991

Wesley Sundquist (2013-2017)
Chair, Public Affairs Advisory Committee
Department of Biochemistry
University of Utah
15 N Medical Drive East RM 4100
Salt Lake City UT 84112-5650
Tel: 801.585.5402
Fax: 801.581.7959

Peter Kennelly (2016-2019) 
Chair, Membership Committee
Department of Biochemistry
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0308
Tel: 540-231-4317
Fax: 540-231-9070

Charles Brenner 
Chair, ASBMB Today Editorial Advisory Board
University of Iowa
Department of Biochemistry
51 Newton Road – 4-403BSB
Iowa City, IA 52242-1109
Tel: 319-335-7934

A. L. Burlingame
Editor, Molecular and Cellular Proteomics
Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Mass Spectrometry Facility
Genentech Hall, Room N472
University of California, San Francisco
600 16th Street, Box 2240
San Francisco, CA 94158-2240
Tel: 415 476-5641
Fax: 415 476-0688

Edward A. Dennis
Editor, Journal of Lipid Research
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
4076 Biomedical Sciences Bldg.
Univ. of California-San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla CA 92093-0601
Tel: 858-534-3055
Fax: 858-534-7390

Lila Gierasch
Editor, Journal of Biological Chemistry
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
710 N. Pleasant Street
Amherst. MA 01003
Tel: 413-545-6094

Herbert Tabor
Co-Editor, Journal of Biological Chemistry
11200 Rockville Pike, Suite 302
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 240 283-6620
Fax: 301 881-2458

Barbara A. Gordon
ASBMB Executive Director
11200 Rockville Pike, Suite 302
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 240-283-6600
Fax: 301-881-2080