Senior investigator and chief, Developmental Glycobiology Section, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health


Kelly Ten Hagen

Statement of interest

I am a senior investigator and chief of the Developmental Glycobiology Section in the intramural program of National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research and a member of the ASBMB (since 2006).

My lab has made contributions within the field of protein O-glycosylation that have advanced our understanding of this evolutionarily conserved modification and its role in normal development and organ function.

Beyond my laboratory, I have been a vocal advocate for women and underrepresented groups in science. I serve as the chair of the National Institutes of Health Women Scientists Advisors Committee, which helped to spearhead efforts to address harassment and bullying in the workplace, including the development of policies and procedures for reporting, investigating and adjudicating inappropriate workplace behavior. Additionally, I served on the Advisory Committee to the Director Working Group (Changing the Culture to End Sexual Harassment), which outlined key recommendations to address sexual harassment throughout the biomedical research community and within scientific societies. Most recently, I have been involved in efforts to address racial inequity at the NIH, serving as a member of the UNITE initiative and on the newly formed NIH Anti-Racism Steering Committee.

As a member of ASBMB Council since 2018, I advocated for the formation of the society’s Women in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Committee (on which I also serve), a group that aims to support and promote women in science. I am committed to equity, diversity and inclusion and feel that scientific societies such as the ASBMB have a huge role to play in fostering inclusive excellence in science.

Moving forward, I will advocate for programs that address barriers limiting the full participation of historically marginalized groups in science. I will also continue to advocate for additional ways ASBMB can support and promote the accomplishments of women and other underrepresented groups at all stages of their careers.

Education and training

  • B.S., Biology, Cornell University
  • Ph.D., Genetics, Stanford University

Awards and honors

  • NIH Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Award of the Year, 2019
  • NIH Director’s Award (for development and deployment of the NIH Anti-Harassment Program), 2019
  • NIH Director’s Award (as a member of the Women Scientists Advisors Executive Committee), 2019
  • NIH Executive Leadership Course, 2020
  • Dean, NIH Oxford Cambridge Scholars Class, 2019–present
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2019
  • Sigma Xi, 2019
  • Advisory Committee to the Director Working Group, 2019
  • NIDCR Executive Leadership Committee, 2019–present
  • NIH Central Tenure Committee, 2017–present
  • NIH Senior Leadership Course, 2016
  • NIH Women Scientists Advisors Executive Committee, 2014–present
  • NIDCR Award for Exceptional Performance, 2007 and 2010
  • NIDCR Performance Award, 2012 and 2014


  • ASBMB Council, 2019–present
  • ASBMB Women in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Committee, 2019–present
  • ASBMB Meetings Committee, 2016–2019
  • ASBMB Women’s Networking Panel, 2016–2019 and 2021
  • ASBMB member, 2006–present
  • Editorial board member, Journal of Biological Chemistry, 2007–2012
  • Senior investigator and chief, Developmental Glycobiology Section, NIDCR/NIH, 2012–present
  • Deputy branch chief, OPCB/NIDCR/NIH, 2015–2017
  • Chief, Developmental Glycobiology Unit, LCDB/NIDCR/NIH, 2004–2012
  • NIH Anti-Racism Steering Committee, 2021
  • NIH Anti-Harassment Steering Committee, 2018–present
  • NIH Common Fund Panel, 2013
  • NIDCR IRP Review Panel, 2014
  • NIDCR Promotion and Tenure Committee, 2012–present
  • Member, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1992–present
  • Member, Society for Glycobiology, 2007–present
  • Society for Glycobiology federal liaison, 2009–2012
  • Society for Glycobiology ambassador, 2012
  • Society for Glycobiology representative to International Glycoconjugate Organization, 2010–2011
  • Editorial board member, Glycobiology, 2011–2019
  • eLife Board of Reviewing Editors, 2020–present