Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 ASBMB Annual Meeting, the 2020 Annual Awards will be presented at the 2021 ASBMB Annual Meeting in Indianapolis.

There will be no 2021 awards.

Nominations for the 2022 ASBMB Annual Awards will open in early 2021.

The Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research, established by the ASBMB’s Lipid Research Division, recognizes outstanding research contributions in the area of lipids by a young investigator who is an assistant professor or equivalent and with no more than 10 years of experience since receiving a Ph.D. and/or M.D.

Nominations must be submitted by ASBMB members, but the nominees need not be ASBMB members. Self-nominations are acceptable.

The award consists of a plaque, $2,000 and transportation and expenses to present a lecture at the ASBMB annual meeting.


Jeremy Baskin


  • Jeremy Baskin
Gregory D. Fairn


  • Gregory D. Fairn

Listen to the award lecture

Christer S. Ejsing


  • Christer S. Ejsing

Watch the award lecture

Britta Brügger


  • Britta BrĂ¼gger
Mary L. Kraft


  • Mary L. Kraft
Tobias Walther


  • Tobias Walther
Peter Espenshade


  • Peter Espenshade
Charles E. Chalfant


  • Charles E. Chalfant
Sarah Keller


  • Sarah Keller