Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Kirschstein ImageThe Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award was established to honor an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of under-represented minorities to enter the scientific enterprise and/or to the effective mentorship of those within it. The award will consist of a plaque, a cash prize of $3,000, and travel expenses to present a lecture at the annual ASBMB meeting. The recipient will be chosen by the Minority Affairs Committee.  Nominations must be originated by Society members; however, the nominee need not be an ASBMB member. 


2016 - Avery August (Cornell University)
2015 - JoAnn Trejo (UCSD)
2014 - Freeman Hrabowski (UMBC) and Michael Summers (UMBC)
2013 - Peter Blumberg (NCI)
2012 - Lovell A. Jones (MD Anderson )
2011 - Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann (CU Denver)