May 2012

‘Modern-day explorers’ Young, Ravetch each wins $100K from the Gairdner Foundation

The Rockefeller University’s Michael W. Young and Jeffrey V. Ravetch were named winners of the Gairdner Foundation’s 2012 Canada Gairdner International Awards.


2013 award nominations welcome

Do you know someone who has made important contributions to the scientific enterprise? The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology wants to recognize the very best among us and is now accepting nominations for its 2013 awards.


A new crop of amazing scientists recognized by JBC/Tabor award series

Find out about the first two 2012 winners of the Journal of Biological Chemistry/Herb Tabor Young Investigator Awards.


ASBMB addresses the issue of diversity in the biomedical research work force

Over the past four decades, the National Institutes of Health has been dedicated to encouraging scientists from underrepresented racial, ethnic and socioeconomic backgrounds to participate and succeed in the biomedical research enterprise. A 2011 report in the journal Science cast an alarming shadow over these efforts.


Credos for challenging times

ASBMB President Suzanne Pfeffer writes, in part, "A vicious cycle can start with a critical or seemingly unfair manuscript review. Crankiness can escalate: How we treat each other can mirror how we feel we are treated."


For her telomere work, de Lange is first woman to win Heineken Prize for biochem, biophysics

Titia de Lange of Rockefeller University won one of this year’s H.P. Heineken Prizes from the Royal Netherlands Academy for Arts and Sciences.


Kornberg appointed to the advisory board of nonprofit Prize4Life

Nobel laureate Roger Kornberg will join the scientific advisory board of Prize4Life, a nonprofit focused on accelerating the development of treatments and a cure for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.


March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology goes to Rockefeller’s Fuchs

Elaine Fuchs of The Rockefeller University has been named a co winner of the 2012 March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology.


Member update

Have you sent in your news? Email us at We want to report on your successes and adventures.


New award is created in Mildred Cohn's name

Starting in 2013, the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will begin issuing an annual Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry.


NIAMS names Wang one of four appointees to advisory council

Xiao Jing Wang of the University of Colorado, Dever, has been appointed to the advisory board of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases.


Oberdoerffer named first JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award winner of 2012

Shalini Oberdoerffer, a tenure-track investigator at the National Cancer Institute, won the Journal of Biological Chemistry/Herbert Tabor Young Investigator Award in January at the Keystone Symposium on epigenomics for her work demonstrating DNA methylation and CTCF mediate reciprocal effects on alternative pre-mRNA splicing.


Penn State's Booker honored with the Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from ACS

Squire J. Booker, an associate professor of chemistry and an associate professor of biochemistry and molecular biology at the Pennsylvania State University, was awarded an Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award from the American Chemical Society. 


Princeton’s Kang recognized at AACR meeting for his metastasis research

Yibin Kang was awarded the 32nd annual American Association for Cancer Research Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research at the association’s annual meeting in Chicago in early April.


Updated Tabor research award will honor the 'living legend'

Late last year, the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology governing body voted to rename the Herbert Tabor Journal of Biological Chemistry Lectureship the Herbert Tabor Research Award and to increase the prize amount to $30,000.


UT-Southwestern’s Olson wins the 2012 Passano Award for muscle research

Eric Olson of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas won the 2012 Passano Award for his research on muscle differentiation, through which he identified major genetic pathways controlling the development of the heart and other muscles.


Yan named JBC/Tabor Young Investigator Award winner at biophysics meeting

Shannon Yan, a Ph.D. candidate at the University of California, Berkeley, won the Young Investigator Award in February at the 56th annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. She was recognized for her work to resolve how the ribosome dynamically translates during frameshifting along a messenger RNA.

found= true1802