May 2013

Member update

Jones honored by Texas House
Lovell JonesLovell Jones, a professor at both the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and the University of Houston as well as director of the joint Center for Health Equity & Evaluation Research, was recognized on the floor of the Texas House of Representatives on April 4 for his years of service in addressing the issue of health disparities.

Freeze will be FASEB’s
next VP of science policy

Hudson FreezeHudson Freeze, a professor at the Sanford Children’s Health Research Center and director of the Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute’s genetic disease program, has been elected the next vice president of science policy for the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology. Freeze studies inherited glycosylation disorders, which can result in inability to appropriately secrete and target proteins in the cell. He was previously the president of the Society for Glycobiology and the society’s representative on the FASEB board of directors. He will begin his new term as VP-elect for science policy July 1.
Weisburger honored by the Toxicology Forum
Elizabeth K. WeisburgerElizabeth K. Weisburger received the 2013 Philippe Shubik Distinguished Scientist Award at the Toxicology Forum in Washington, D.C., at its winter meeting. This award is given to individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of toxicology. Weisburger worked at the National Institute of Cancer at the National Institutes of Health from 1949 until her retirement.
March of Dimes recognizes UT-Southwestern’s Olson
Eric OlsonEric Olson, chairman of the molecular biology department at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, has received the 2013 March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology for his work on identifying genetic pathways involved in heart and other muscle formation. The prize is awarded to investigators whose research helps elucidate the underlying cause of birth defects. According to the March of Dimes, one out of every 125 infants is born with a congenital heart defect each year. A number of drugs for heart disease and dysfunction based on Olson’s work are currently under investigation. Olson, who will receive a $250,000 cash award and a silver medal, will be recognized on May 6 at a dinner in Washington, D.C.
Inaugural European Avanti award issued to Goni
Felix GoniFelix Goni, director of the Biophysics Unit at the joint Spanish National Research CouncilUniversidad del País Vasco/Euskal Herriko Unibertsitatea, has received the inaugural European Avanti award for his research on lipids that induce apoptosis. Goni’s research interests include membrane biophysics, sphingolipids and sphingomyelinases, membrane fusion, and lipid-protein interactions. The award is intended to recognize important contributions of Europeans to the understanding of lipids and was granted for the first time by the European Biophysical Societies Association. An awards ceremony will be held during the Ninth European Congress of Biophysics, which will take place in Lisbon in July.
Dikic receives Ernst Jung Prize for medicine and Leibniz Prize
Ivan DikicIvan Dikic was named the winner of both the Ernst Jung Prize and the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize for his groundbreaking work in understanding the role of ubiquitin in cellular signal regulation. The prize from The Jung Foundation for Science and Research, which will be presented this month in Hamburg, is 150,000 euros. The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, funded and presented by the German Research Foundation, is Germany’s most prestigious scientific award and is accompanied by a grant of 2.5 million euros.

Kyeorda KempKyeorda Kemp ( is a postdoctoral researcher at Northwestern University.

found= true2327