August 2012

2013 ASBMB award winners


Photo of Susan Henry  Avanti Award in Lipids
Susan A. Henry, Cornell University
Studies genetic regulation and signaling related to phospholipid and triacylglycerol metabolism in yeast 
Photo of F. Ulrich Hartl  Herbert Tabor Research Award
F. Ulrich Hartl, Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry
Studies of the role of molecular chaperones in protein folding and in diseases of aberrant folding 
Photo of James M. Ntambi  ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education
James M. Ntambi, University of Wisconsin–Madison
Studies the genetic regulation of the stearoyl-CoA desaturases in metabolism and in disease states such as obesity, diabetes, atherosclerosis and cancer 
Photo of Arthur L. Horwich  Herbert Tabor Research Award
Arthur L. Horwich, Yale School of Medicine
Focuses on chaperonin-mediated protein folding 
Photo of Shu-ou Shan  ASBMB Young Investigator Award
Shu-ou Shan, California Institute of Technology
Research addresses how a novel class of nucleotide hydrolases drives the efficient and accurate delivery of newly synthesized proteins to their correct destinations 
Photo of Jennifer A. Doudna  Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry
Jennifer A. Doudna, University of California, Berkeley
Studies RNA-mediated initiation of protein synthesis, RNA–protein complexes involved in targeting proteins for export out of cells and the early steps in gene regulation by RNA interference 
Photo of Vivek Malhotra  ASBMB-Merck Award
Vivek Malhotra, Centre for Genomic Regulation
Studies the mechanism of secretory cargo sorting and transport carrier biogenesis during conventional and unconventional protein secretion 
Photo of Peter Blumberg  Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award
Peter Blumberg, National Cancer Institute
Studies the regulation of protein kinase C and related mediators of diacylglycerol signaling pathways and the capsaicin receptor TRPV1 as a therapeutic target for pain 
Photo of Helen M. Berman  Delano Award for Computational Biosciences
Helen M. Berman, Rutgers University
Focuses on the structure and interactions of biological macromolecules and the creation of computer resources to enable analysis of proteins and nucleic acids 
Photo of Tobias Walther  Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator in Lipid Research
Tobias Walther, Yale School of Medicine
Studies the mechanisms of lipid and membrane homeostasis 
Photo of Brian K. Kobilka  Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award
Brian K. Kobilka, Stanford University School of Medicine
Investigates the structural basis of G-protein–coupled receptor signal transduction 
Photo of Ivan Dikic  William C. Rose Award
Ivan Dikic, Goethe University School of Medicine
Studies how ubiquitin regulates cellular functions and is implicated in development of human diseases, including cancer, dermatitis and bacterial infections 
Photo of Olke C. Uhlenbeck  Fritz Lipmann Lectureship
Olke C. Uhlenbeck, Northwestern University
Focuses on relating RNA structure to function 
Photo of Daniel E. Goldberg  Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology
Daniel E. Goldberg, Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine
Researches metabolism of intraerythrocytic malaria parasites 


found= true1916