ASBMB award winners

Don’t miss their lectures at the annual meeting in Orlando

Published September 01 2018

Alice and C. C. Wang Award in Molecular Parasitology

Dominique Soldati-Favre, Université de Genève
"The ins and outs of Toxoplasma invasion and egress"

ASBMB Young Investigator Award

Christine Dunham, Emory University
"Mechanisms of RNA-mediated translational control"

Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award

Nick Tonks, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
"30 years of protein tyrosine phosphatases — basic research to novel therapeutics"

ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education

Neil Garg, University of California, Los Angeles
"How organic chemistry became one of UCLA’s most popular classes"

Herbert Tabor Research Award

Jeremy Thorner, University of California, Berkeley
"Regulation of plasma membrane homeostasis: Dissecting TORC2 signaling"

ASBMB-Merck Award

Ruma Banerjee, University of Michigan
"Signaling through sulfide"

DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences

Brian Kuhlman, University of North Carolina School of Medicine
"Designing novel protein structures and interactions with Rosetta"

Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry

Angela Gronenborn, University of Pittsburgh
"The awesome power of Fluorine NMR"

Avanti Award in Lipids

Vytas Bankaitis, Texas A&M Health Science Center
"Instructive regulation of phosphoinositide signaling by lipid transfer proteins"

Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Jorge Torres, University of California, Los Angeles
"Dissecting the mechanisms of cell division"

Bert and Natalie Vallee Award in Biomedical Science

Craig Thompson, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
"The role of metabolites in regulating cellular differentiation and gene expression"

Walter A. Shaw Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research

Shu Sin Chng, National University of Singapore
"Bacterial lipid trafficking and outer membrane homeostasis"

William C. Rose Award

Dorothy Shippen, Texas A&M University
"Breaking new ground: the emergence of non-canonical functions for telomerase subunits in plants"

FASEB Excellence in Science Award

Barbara Kahn, Harvard Medical School
"Glucose transport, adipose biology and novel mechanisms for regulating systemic insulin sensitivity"