Member update

AAAS logo

New fellows at the American Association for the Advancement of Science

EDUCATION Tom H. Stevens
Harold B. White III Zucai Suo
Adele J. Wolfson John J. G. Tesmer
  Peter Anthony Weil
Paul E. Bock  
Alan Richard Brash CHEMISTRY
Jeffrey L. Brodsky Squire J. Booker
Dana Carroll Donald M. Kurtz
Peter Cherbas  
Concetta C. DiRusso Donald M. Bers
Caroline A. Enns Marc G. Caron
J. Kevin Foskett James R. Goldenring
Robert L. Geahlen Michael J. Holtzman
Oliver Hankinson Robert J. Lefkowitz
John D. Helmann MacRae F. Linton
Sophien Kamoun Mark A. Magnuson
Kevin A. Morano Edward F. Plow
Richard A. Padgett Samuel A. Santoro
James G. Patton Timothy A. Springer
Marcia R. Rosner Luke Szweda
Matthew S. Sachs David M. Virshup

In memoriam

Frederick SangerFrederick Sanger, a Nobel laureate who conducted pioneering research on insulin and DNA sequencing, died in November at the age of 95. Sanger’s structural studies led to the determination of insulin’s amino acid sequence, which landed him the 1958 Nobel for chemistry. He also developed the rapid “dideoxy” technique to sequence DNA , for which he won the 1980 Nobel in chemistry yet again. Since then, his method has been adapted and is now known as Sanger sequencing. He is the only scientist to have twice won the chemistry Nobel.

In memoriam

Aaron David FreedmanAaron David Freedman, a physician and medical educator who closed out his career in 2008 at the Medical School of the City University of New York, died last year. He was 91. Freedman earned his M.D. in 1945 and then his Ph.D. in 1958. He began his career as a faculty member at Columbia University, then moved to the University of Kansas, served as a department chairman at the Menorah Medical Center in Kansas City, Mo., and then moved to the University of Pennsylvania, where he was a professor and associate dean of the medical school. He later joined the Medical School of the City University, where he served as director of the Goldman Institute for Human Biology from 1975 to 1979, acting dean of the Sophie Davis School of Biomedical Education and vice president for health affairs from 1978 to 1979, and acting deputy dean for academic affairs from 1990 to 1992.

In memoriam

Czeslaw CierniewskiCzeslaw Cierniewski of the Medical University of Lodz in Poland died in late October at the age of 67. Cierniewki had served as an editorial board member for the Journal of Biological Chemistry since 2003 and had just begun his second term before his death. Cierniewski was a member of the Polish Academy of Sciences.

Hannun wins Kuwait Prize

Yusuf HannunYusuf Hannun, director of the Stony Brook University Cancer Center, won the Kuwait Prize for basic sciences. Issued by the Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Science, the award is bestowed annually in recognition of great scientific accomplishments by Arab scientists. Hannun, a native of Jordan, and his group discovered bioactive sphingolipids, a class of lipids that have emerged as critical regulators of a multitude of cell functions and, when defective, can cause disorders with significant medical effects. Hannun is a past winner of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology’s Avanti Award in Lipids. In addition to directing the cancer center, he serves as vice dean for cancer medicine and as the Joel Kenny professor of medicine at Stony Brook. The Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Science was founded in 1976 and is supported by government and private funding.