MAC Workshop Banner

program Information

June 12 – 14, 2014, Washington, D.C.
Washington Marriott 

Workshop Agenda    

This workshop is designed to help early career scientists and senior postdoctoral scholars write winning research proposals to the National Science Foundation (NSF).

Workshop components:

  • Lectures on grant-writing and grantsmanship
  • Opportunities for participants to give presentations of their ideas for funding to expert reviewers and receive detailed and honest feedback
  • Mock grant review panels
  • Case-studies and small group discussions

Participant requirements:

  • Early career faculty
  • Senior postdoctoral fellows
  • Underrepresented minority scientists are encouraged to apply
  • Participants are responsible for their own travel and lodging.  The ASBMB will cover all onsite costs, including group meals.

Participants will work with the following mentors at our 2014 workshop:

  • Orlando Acevedo (Auburn University)
  • Vahe Bandarian (University of Arizona)
  • Squire J. Booker (Penn State)
  • Wilfredo Colon (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
  • Sonia Flores (University of Colorado Denver)
  • Jonathan Kelber (Cal State Univ. Northridge, past participant & peer mentor) 
  • Zackary Mackey (VA Tech, past participant & peer-mentor)
  • Reuben Peters (Iowa State University)
  • Marion Sewer (UCSD)
  • Takita Felder Sumter (Winthrop University)
  • David Wilson (SACNAS)


There is no registration fee for this workshop.  

Transportation & Parking
Participants are responsible for arranging and paying for their own transportation to and from the workshop (including parking). 

Participants are responsible for paying for their own accommodations. Given the schedule of the workshop, we recommend that each participant stay at least 2-nights (June 12 and June 13). 
Room rate: $139/night 

Group meals are sponsored by the ASBMB and included as part of the workshop. 

© Copyright 2015 American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
NSF Logo  ASBMB Logo