ASBMB Nobel Prize Winners

1988 - Robert Huber



Robert Huber (1937- present) was awarded the 1988 Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with Johann Deisenhofer and Hartmut Michel for their determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction center, which is a protein that is the site of the light reactions of photosynthesis. The three scientsits were recognized for their work in first crystallizing an intramembrane protein, and subsequently applying X-ray crystallography to determine its structure. Their results provided the first insight into the structural bodies involved in photosynthesis and helped increase understanding of bacterial and plant photosynthesis.