ASBMB Nobel Prize Winners

1972 - Stanford Moore



Stanford Moore (1913 – 1982), along with Christian B. Anfinsen and William H. Stein, received the 1972 Nobel Prize for Chemistry for his research on the molecular structures of proteins. Working at the Rockefeller Institute in New York, Moore and Stein pioneered new methods of chromatography to analyze amino acids and small peptides produced by hydrolyzing proteins. In 1958, they developed the first automatic amino acid analyzer, a machine that greatly facilitated the analysis of the amino acid sequences of proteins. In 1959, Moore and Stein used their amino acid analyzer to determine the complete chemical structure of ribonuclease, an enzyme that catalyzes the hydrolysis of RNA into smaller components.