ASBMB Nobel Prize Winners

1948 – Arne W. K. Tiselius



Arne Wilhelm Kaurin Tiselius (1902-1971) received the 1948 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his research on electrophoresis and adsorption analysis, especially for his discoveries related to the complex nature of serum proteins.  In the early 1930s, Tiselius studied diffusion and adsorption in naturally-occurring base-exchanging zeolites – minerals with a microporous structure.  His interests soon turned to the application of physical methods to biochemical problems, which led to a much improved method of electrophoretic analysis. He applied this method to the separation of chemically-similar proteins in the blood serum and to a number of other biochemical problems.  Later, he conducted research into the separation of proteins and other substances by adsorption chromatography.