2018-2019 Public Affairs Advisory Committee

For more about the members of the Public Affairs Advisory Committee, click here

Voting Members

Matthew S. Gentry, Chair (2017-2020) 
Professor
Director, LaFora Epilepsy Cure initiative
University of Kentucky 
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry 
BBSRB Building 
741 S. Limestone, B278 
Lexington, KY 40536-0509 
Tel: 859.323.8482 
Email: matthew.gentry@uky.edu

Susan J, Baserga (2016-2019)
Professor
Yale University 
Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry 
PO Box 208024
333 Cedar Street
New Haven, CT 06520-8024
Tel: 203.785.4618 
Email: susan.baserga@yale.edu

Jeffrey l. Brodsky (2018-2021)
Avinoff Professor of Biological Sciences
Director, Center for Protein Conformational Diseases
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Pittsburgh 
A329 Langley Hall
Pittsburgh, PA 15260
Tel: 412.624.4831
Email: jbrodsky@pitt.edu

Gerald Carlson (2016-2019) 
Professor and Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 
Kansas University Medical Center 
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 
1083 KLSIC, Mail Stop 3030 
3901 Rainbow Blvd 
Kansas City, KS 66160 
Tel: 913.588.7005 
Email: gcarlson@kumc.edu

Anita Corbett (2017-2020) 
Professor 
Emory University 
Department of Biochemistry
1510 Clifton Rd. NE
Atlanta, GA 30322 
Tel: 404.727.4546              
Email: acorbe2@emory.edu

Martha Cyert (2015-2018) 
Professor 
Stanford University 
Department of Biology 
371 Serra Mall 
Stanford, CA 94305-5020 
Tel: 215.762.4446 
Email: mcyert@stanford.edu

Susan L. Forsburg (2016-2019) 
Professor 
University of Southern California 
Molecular & Computational Biology Section 
1050 Childs Way, RRI201
Los Angeles CA 90089-2910
Tel: 213.740.5558 
Email: forsburg@usc.edu

Katherine L. Friedman (2017-2020)
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Vanderbilt University 
Department of Biological Sciences
2417A Stevenson Center
Nashville, TN 37235-1634
Tel: 615.322.5143 
Email: katherine.friedman@vanderbilt.edu

Kimberly Jackson (2017-2020)
Associate Professor and Chair of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Spelman College 
Chemistry and Biochemistry Department
350 Spelman Lane , Box 1131 
Atlanta, Georgia 30314 
Tel: 404.270.5792
Email: kjackson@spelman.edu

Terri Goss Kinzy (2016-2019) 
Vice President for Research and Professor of Biological Sciences
Western Michigan University
1903 W Michigan Ave
Kalamazoo MI 49008-5456 
Tel: 269.387.8294  
Email: terri.kinzy@wmich.edu

Rick Page (2015-2018) 
Assistant Professor 
Miami University 
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry 
160 Hughes Laboratories 
651 E. High St. 
Oxford, OH 45056 
Tel: 513.529.2813  
Email: pagerc@miamioh.edu

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado (2016-2019) 
Professor 
Mayo Clinic
Department of Immunology 
200 First St. SW
Rochester, MN 55905
Tel: 507.284.2705 
Email: ramirezalvarado.marina@mayo.edu

Nicholas Rhind (2017-2020) 
Professor 
University of Massachusetts Medical School 
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacy 
364 Plantation Street 
Worcester, MA 01605  
Tel: 508.856.8316 
Email: nick.rhind@umassmed.edu

Jonathan Sachs (2015-2018) 
Associate Professor 
University of Minnesota 
Department of Biomedical Engineering 
7-126 Nils Hasselmo Hall 
312 Church St SE 
Minneapolis, MN 55455 
Tel: 612.624.7158 
Email: jnsachs@umn.edu  

Michael Schaller (2017-2020) 
Professor and Chair of Biochemistry 
University of West Virginia 
Department of Biochemistry 
Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center 
1 Medical Center Drive 
P.O. Box 9142 
Morgantown, WV 26506-9142 
Tel: 304.293.9514 
Email: mschaller@hsc.wvu.edu

Tricia Serio (2015-2018) 
Professor and Dean
University of Massachusetts - Amherst 
College of Natural Sciences
106 Stockbridge Hall
80 Campus Center Way
Amherst, MA 01003 
Tel: 413.545.2766
Email: tserio@umass.edu

Dorothy Shippen (2015-2018) 
Professor 
Texas A&M University 
Department of Biochemistry
Room 413A
College Station, TX 77843 
Tel: 979.862.2342 
Email: dshippen@tamu.edu

Ex Officio (Non-Voting) Members

Gerald Hart — ASBMB President (2018-2020)
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Georgia Research Alliance
William Henry Terry, Sr. Eminent Scholar in Drug Discovery
Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
Tel: 706.583.5550
Email: gwhart13@me.com

Natalie Ahn – Past ASBMB President (2016-2018) 
Professor of Distinction 
University of Colorado at Boulder 
Jennie Smoly Caruthers Biotechnology Building B314
596 UCB 
Tel: 303.492.4799
Boulder, CO 80309
Tel: 303.492.4799
Fax: 303.492.2439
Email: Natalie.Ahn@colorado.edu