Council Members


Officers 

Gerald Hart President (2018-2020)
Georgia Research Alliance
William Henry Terry, Sr. Eminent Scholar in Drug Discovery
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Complex Carbohydrate Research Center
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602
Tel: 706-583-5550
Email: gwhart13@me.com

Natalie Ahn — Past President  (2018-2019)
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of Colorado at Boulder
Campus Box 215
Boulder. CO 80309-0215
Tel: 303-492-4799
Fax: 303-492-2439
Email: natalie.ahn@colorado.edu

Toni M. Antalis  Treasurer (20152019)
Department of Physiology, Center for Vascular Biology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Bio Park, Bldg. One - Room 220
800 W. Baltimore Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
Tel: 410-706-8222
Fax: 410-706-8121
Email: tantalis@som.umaryland.edu

Joan Conaway  Treasurer-Elect (20192020)  
Stowers Institute for Medical Research
1000 E 50th Street
 Kansas City, Missouri 64110
Tel: 816-926-4093
Email: jlc@stowers.org

Jennifer DuBois  Secretary (20162019)
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Montana State University
221 Chem and Biochem Research Building,
Bozeman, Montana 59717
Tel: 406-994-2844
E-mail: jennifer.dubois1@montana.edu 

 

Voting Members

Squire Booker (20162019)
Departments of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
104 Chemistry Building
The Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA 16802
Tel: 814-865-8793
Fax: 814-865-2927
Email: sjb14@psu.edu

Victoria J. DeRose (20162019)
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
1253 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403
Tel: 541-346-3568
Email: derose@uoregon.edu

Blake Hill (2017-2020)
Department of Biochemistry
Medical College of Wisconsin
 8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Tel: 414-955-5885
Fax: 414-955-6510
Email: rbhill@mcw.edu  

Audrey Lamb (2019-2022)
Department of Molecular Biosciences
University of Kansas
5060 Haworth Hall
Lawrence, KS 66045
Tel: 785-864-5075
Email: lamb@ku.edu

James M. Ntambi (2019-2022)
Departments of Biochemistry and Nutritional Sciences
University of Wisconsin-Madison
433 Babcock Drive
Madison WI 53706
Tel: 608-265-3700
Fax: 608-265-3272
Email: james.ntambi@wisc.edu
  
Celia A. Schiffer (2016-2019)
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
University of Massachusetts Medical School 
364 Plantation St
Worcester, MA 01605
Tel: 508-856-8008
Email: celia.schiffer@umassmed.edu

Takita Felder Sumter (20172020)
Department of Chemistry, Physics and Geology
Sims Science Building 314-A
Winthrop University
Rock Hill, SC 29733
Tel: 803-323-4991
Email: sumtert@winthrop.edu

Kelly Ten-Hagen (2019-2022)
Developmental Glycobiology Section, NIDCR
NIH
Building 30, Room 407
30 Convent Drive
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel: 301-451-6318
Email: kh253o@nih.gov

 JoAnn Trejo (2017-2020)
 Department of Pharmacology
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive #0636
La Jolla, CA 92093
Tel: 858-246-0150
Email: jotrejo@ucsd.edu  

 

Non-Voting Members

 

Cheryl Bailey (2016–2019) 
Chair, Education and Professional Development Committee
Mount Mary University
School of Natural and Health Sciences
Milwaukee, WI
Tel: 414-258-4810, ext. 388
Email: baileyc@mtmary.edu

A. L. Burlingame 
Editor, Molecular and Cellular Proteomics
Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Mass Spectrometry Facility
Genentech Hall, Room N472
University of California, San Francisco
600 16th Street, Box 2240
San Francisco, CA 94158-2240
Tel: 415 476-5641
Fax: 415 476-0688
Email: alb@cgl.ucsf.edu 

Edward A. Dennis 
Editor, Journal of Lipid Research
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
4076 Biomedical Sciences Bldg.
Univ. of California-San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive
La Jolla CA 92093-0601
Tel: 858-534-3055
Fax: 858-534-7390
Email: edennis@ucsd.edu 

Sonia Flores (2017–2020) 
Chair, Minority Affairs Committee
Pulmonary Division
Vice Chair of Diversity and Justice
Department of Medicine
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Email: sonia.flores@ucdenver.edu  

Matthew S. Gentry (2017-2020)
Chair, Public Affairs Advisory Committee
Associate Professor
University of Kentucky
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry
BBSRB Building
741 S. Limestone, B278
Lexington, KY 40536-0509
Tel: 859.323.8482
Email: matthew.gentry@uky.edu  

Lila Gierasch 
Editor, Journal of Biological Chemistry
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
710 N. Pleasant Street
Amherst. MA 01003
Tel: 413-545-6094
Email: gierasch@biochem.umass.edu 

Susanna Greer (2016–2019) 
Chair, Public Outreach Committee
250 Williams Street
Atlanta, GA 30303
Tel: 404-329-7552
Email:  Susanna.greer@cancer.org 

Peter Kennelly (2016–2019) 
Chair, Membership Committee
Department of Biochemistry
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0308
Tel: 540-231-4317
Fax: 540-231-9070
Email:  pjkennel@vt.edu 

Enrique M. De La Cruz (2016–2019)
Chair, Publications Committee
Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
Yale University
PO Box 208114, 266 Whitney Avenue
New Haven, CT 06520-8114
Tel: 203-432-5424
Email: enrique.delacruz@yale.edu 

Daniel M. Raben (2016–2019) 
Chair, Meetings Committee
Department of Biological Chemistry
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
725 North Wolfe Street
Baltimore, MD 21205
Tel: 410-955-1289
Fax: 410-614-8729
Email: draben@jhmi.edu 

Rajini Rao (2017–2019)
Chair, ASBMB Today Editorial Advisory Board
Professor and director, Graduate Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine   
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Department of Physiology
201/204 Wood Basic Science Building  
725 N. Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205 
Tel: 410-955-4732                                                                                                                          
Email: rrao@jhmi.edu 

William L. Smith 
Editor, Journal of Lipid Research 
Email:  wsmith@asbmb.org  

Herbert Tabor
Co-Editor, Journal of Biological Chemistry
11200 Rockville Pike, Suite 302
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 240 283-6620
Fax: 301 881-2458
Email: htabor@asbmb.org

Barbara A. Gordon
ASBMB Executive Director
11200 Rockville Pike, Suite 302
Rockville, MD 20852
Tel: 240-283-6600
Fax: 301-881-2080
Email: bgordon@asbmb.org