Spotlight Session

Oral presentations showcasing the most compelling research from submitted abstracts. Spotlight session organizers selected 160+ abstracts for 15 minute presentations, across all ASBMB topic categories.  

Sunday, April 23 

2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Bacterial Persistence, Toxin-Antitoxin Systems and PrAMPs
Chair: Rebecca Page, Brown University  

Biocatalysts: Understanding important reactions and pathways
Chair: Jennifer DuBois, Montana State University 

Cancer Metabolism
Co-chairs: Jessica Ellis, Purdue University; Florencia Pascual, University of North Carolina

Chromatin Modification, Gene Expression and Epigenetic Mutations
Chair: Brian Strahl, UNC School of Medicine

Lipid Signaling
Chair: Daniel Raben, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine 

Systems Approaches to Signaling in Human Disease

Chair: Michael Yaffe, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Plant Biochemistry and Metabolism I
Chair: Edgar Cahoon, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Protein Folding, Aggregation, and Chaperones: Emerging Frontiers
Chair: Xin Zhang, Penn State University

4:15 p.m. - 5:45 p.m. DNA Replication, Recombination and Repair I
Chair: Houra Merrikh, University of Washington

Emerging technologies in proteomics
Lan Huang, University of California, Irvine 

Glycans and Glycobiology
Chair: Kelly Ten Hagen, NIDCR, NIH  

Natural Product Discovery and Biosynthesis
Chair: Rebecca A. Butcher, University of Florida

Non-coding RNA functional diversity
Chair: Jhumku Kohtz, Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine

Plant Biochemistry and Metabolism II
Chair: Ana Paula Alonzo, Ohio State University  

Regulation of Intracellular Cholesterol Transport
Chair: Arun Radhakrishnan, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Signal Transduction and Protein Modifications
Chair: Jin Zhang, University of California, San Diego  

Monday, April 24

2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Chemical Tools to Solve Biological Puzzles
Chair: Yan Jessie Zhang, University of Texas at Austin 

DNA Replication, Recombination and Repair - II
Chair: Joseph Loparo, Harvard Medical School 

GEMS from Genome Database mining
Chair: To be announced

Lipids, Metabolism and the Central Nervous System
Chair: Jessica Ellis, Purdue University 

Protein Interactions and Assemblies
Chair: To be announced

Signal Transduction: Building Blocks and Scaffolds
Chair: Anton Bennett, Yale University School of Medicine 

4:15 p.m. - 5:45 p.m. Cardiac Metabolism and Function
Chair: Florencia Pascual, University of North Carolina

Chromatin and Gene Expression
Chair: To be announced

Lighthouses inside cells: Applications of biosensors
Chair: Yan Jessie Zhang, University of Texas at Austin  

Microbial Signaling and Pathogenesis
Chair: Michael Federle, University of Illinois at Chicago

Protein Folding, Aggregation, and Chaperones: New Applications
Chair: Aaron Ring, Yale University

Structural Dynamics of Enzymes
Chair: David Boehr, Penn State University

Systems Biology/Proteomics in Health and Disease
Chair: To be announced 

Tuesday, April 25

2:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Beyond the Code: Chemistry of Nucleotide and Amino Acid Modifications
Chair: Lana Saleh, New England Biolabs 

The Integration of Metabolism and Epigenetics
Chair: Matthew Hirschey, Duke University 

Intrinsic Disorder and Recognition

Chair: To be announced

Microbiomes and their evolution during infection and disease

Chair: Rebecca Page, Brown University

Molecular Mechanisms of Regulation in Proteolysis
Chair: Evette Radisky, Mayo Clinic Cancer Center 

RNA: Synthesis, Regulation, and Processing (RNA Pol II)
Chair: Craig Kaplan, Texas A&M University

Therapeutics - Targets and Design
Chair: To be announced  

4:15 p.m. - 5:45 p.m. Advances in Glycobiology
Chair: Katharina Ribbeck, Masschusetts Institute of Technology 

Cancer Signaling and Therapeutics
Chair: To be announced

Chemical Probes and Metaboilc Biosensors
Chair: Matthew Hirschey, Duke University

Chromatin Structure and Epigenetic Regulation
Patrick Grant, University of Virginia, School of Medicine

Lipid Transport and Processing

Chair: Arun Radhakrishnan, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Molecular Machines of Protein Synthesis and Degradation
Chair: Kylie Walters, NCI, NIH

Protein and Enzyme Allostery
Chair: To be announced