Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award

Kirschstein ImageThe Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award was established to honor an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement of under-represented minorities to enter the scientific enterprise and/or to the effective mentorship of those within it. The award will consist of a plaque, a cash prize of $3,000 and travel expenses to present a lecture at the annual ASBMB meeting. The recipient will be chosen by the ASBMB Minority Affairs Committee. Nominations must be originated by society members, however the nominee need not be an ASBMB member. 


  • 2020 – Lizabeth Allison
  • 2019 – Jorge Torres
  • 2018 – Andrew Tsin
  • 2017 – Douglas Robinson
  • 2016 – Avery August
  • 2015 – JoAnn Trejo
  • 2014 – Freeman A. Hrabowski III and Michael Summers
  • 2013 – Peter Blumberg
  • 2012 – Lovell A. Jones
  • 2011 – Arthur Gutierrez–Hartmann