DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences

DeLano ImageThe DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences was established by family, friends and colleagues to honor the legacy of Warren L. DeLano. The award will be given to a scientist for the most accessible and innovative development or application of computer technology to enhance research in the life sciences at the molecular level. The contribution should include two key elements: more productive use of computers to accelerate and facilitate research, and ready access of these programs for the scientific community. The award consists of a plaque, a $3,000 cash award and travel expenses for the recipient to attend the ASBMB annual meeting to present a lecture.


  • 2020 – Yang Zhang
  • 2019 – Brian Kuhlman
  • 2018 – Chris Sander
  • 2017 – Brian K. Shoichet
  • 2016 – Todd O. Yeates
  • 2015 – Vijay Pande
  • 2014 – Michael Levitt
  • 2013 – Helen M. Berman
  • 2012 – Barry Honig
  • 2011 – Axel T. Brunger