December 2010

2010 William C. Rose Award Goes to Melissa J. Moore


Melissa J. Moore, a professor at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, has been named the winner of ASBMB's 2011 William C. Rose Award. 


ASBMB Headquarters to Be Relocated


The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will be relocating from its current headquarters on the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology campus to a new, more modern, commercial space.


ASBMB Member Spotlight

Member SpotlightASBMB members in the spotlight this month include Joel S. Bennett, Robert G. Roeder, J. Michael Bishop, Charles J. Epstein, William Ja, Eric M. Verdin, Stephen J. Benkovic, Susan L. Lindquist and Stanley B. Prusiner. Nine ASBMB members also were elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies.


Bernard L. Horecker (1914—2010)

ASBMB Past-president Bernard Leonard Horecker died this past October. He was well know for his contributions to elucidating the pentose phosphate pathway.


Election Roundup

News from the HillBY GEOFFREY HUNT

The 2010 midterm elections brought massive change to Congress. Republicans reclaimed the U.S. House of Representatives, whereas the Democrats retained control of the Senate but saw their majority vastly reduced. These results promise to bring change to the approach of the legislative branch; what will their effect be on science?


Henry A. Lardy (1917—2010)

Henry Arnold Lardy, past president of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, died Aug. 4, 2010, from prostate cancer, a few days before his 93rd birthday.


Letter for October President's Message

Letters to the EditorZhongzhou Yang writes in agreement that the emphasis for doctoral candidates should be on learning rather than maximizing publications


Molecular Visualization Survey

Letters to the EditorIn this letter, Paul Craig asks ASBMB Today readers to take part in a short molecular visualization survey.


Tennis in Biochemistry

President's MessageBY SUZANNE PFEFFER

About three years ago, I took up competitive tennis. I had never played any competitive sports as a kid and wanted to return to tennis after a 20 year break.


Yusuf Hannun Receives Avanti Award in Lipids


Yusuf Hannun, professor and department chairman at the Medical University of South Carolina in Charleston, S.C., is the winner of the 2010 ASBMB-Avanti Award in Lipids. 

found= true1102