July 2010

[ASBMB] Did You Know?

Share |

Russell H. Chittenden, the first president of ASBMB.

Since its founding in 1906, the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has had 82 presidents.

• Russell H. Chittenden, who was the first president of ASBMB, also served as president of the American Physiological Society from 1895 to 1904.

• The first female ASBMB president was Mildred Cohn, who served in 1978. Since then, there have been nine additional female presidents, including our current president, Suzanne Pfeffer.

• Thirteen ASBMB presidents have been awarded Nobel Prizes:  Edward A. Doisy, Carl F. Cori, Edward C. Kendall, Fritz A. Lipmann, Vincent du Vigneaud, Arthur Kornberg, Severo Ochoa, Konrad E. Bloch, Christian B. Anfinsen, Stanford Moore, Paul Berg, Edwin G. Krebs and Paul D. Boyer.

• Fourteen ASBMB presidents were born outside of the United States: Otto K. O. Folin (Sweden), Archibald B. Mcallum (Canada), Walter R. Bloor (Canada), Rudolph J. Anderson (Sweden), Hans T. Clarke (England), Carl F. Cori (Prag), Hubert B. Vickery (Canada), J. Murray Luck (Canada), Severo Ochoa (Spain), Fritz Lipmann (Germany), Konrad E. Bloch (Neisse, Upper Silesia), Elizabeth F. Neufeld (France), Martin F. Gellert (Czechoslovakia) and I. Robert Lehman (Lithuania).

• ASBMB presidents generally have served one-year terms (with the exception of a period from 1912 to 1948 where the terms were increased to two years). However, in 2000, the terms were officially changed to two years.

For more information about ASBMB presidents, go to the ASBMB history site.

found= true858