[ASBMB] Did You Know?

Otto Meyerhof was the first ASBMB Nobel Prize recipient.

Ninety-seven American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology members have been the recipients of Nobel Prizes.

• Thirty-five of the prizes were in chemistry, and 62 of the prizes were in physiology or medicine.

• The first ASBMB member to receive the prize was Otto Meyerhof in 1922, for his discovery of the relationship between the consumption of oxygen and the metabolism of lactic acid in muscle.

• In both 1962 and 1972, five ASBMB members received Nobel prizes. John C. Kendrew and Max Perutz were awarded the 1962 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, and Francis H. Crick, James D. Watson and Maurice H. Wilkins shared the 1962 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.  In 1972, William H. Stein, Christian B. Anfinsen and Stanford Moore were honored with the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, while Rodney R. Porter and Gerald M. Edelman shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

• Four of the ASBMB laureates were women:

• Gerty Theresa Cori was awarded the 1947 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for her discovery of how glycogen is broken down and resynthesized in the body to be either used or stored as a source of energy.
• Dorothy Mary Crowfoot Hodgkin received the 1964 Nobel Prize for Chemistry for determining the structures of several biologically important compounds using X-ray crystallography.
• Gertrude Belle Elion was the recipient of one-third of the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1988 for her development of drugs used to treat several major diseases.
• Carol W. Greider received one-third of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for the discovery of how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase.

For more information about ASBMB Nobel laureates, go to the ASBMB history site. 


Remembering Martha Vaughan
Honeybees and a royal legacy
Science in a flash
JLR names new editors-in-chief
2018 in review

asbmb logo 2014

© Copyright American Society
for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

11200 Rockville Pike, Suite 302, Rockville, MD 20852
240-283-6614 | asbmbtoday@asbmb.org

About ASBMB logo