October 2010

ASBMB Member Spotlight

Member-Spotlight---AlbertsAlberts Honored with Vannevar Bush Award

Bruce M. Alberts was named the recipient of the 2010 Vannevar Bush Award, presented by the National Science Board, in recognition of his lifetime contributions to the U.S. in science and technology.

The award honors truly exceptional, lifelong leaders in science and technology who have made substantial contributions to the welfare of the nation through public-service activities in science, technology and public policy. It was established in 1980 in memory of Vannevar Bush, who served as science advisor to President Franklin D. Roosevelt during World War II, helped to establish federal funding for science and engineering as a national priority during peacetime and was behind the creation of the National Science Foundation.

Alberts currently serves as editor-in-chief of the journal Science and as a U.S. science envoy. He also is professor emeritus in the department of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco.

“We are pleased to recognize Bruce for his dedication to the creativity, openness and tolerance that define science, passion for improving the human condition and transformational and inspirational leadership in science education, international capacity building and the tireless pursuit of a scientific temperament for the world,” said Steven Beering, NSB chairman.

Photo Credit: Tom Kochel, AAAS

Member-Spotlight,-CatterallCatterall Wins Gairdner Award

William A. Catterall, chairman and professor of the department of pharmacology at the University of Washington School of Medicine, was one of five scientists awarded 2010 Canada Gairdner International Awards from the Gairdner Foundation.

The Gairdner Awards are given annually to individuals from a variety of fields for outstanding discoveries or contributions to medical science. According to the Gairdner Foundation, which was established by Toronto stockbroker James Arthur Gairdner in 1957, next to the Nobel Prize in Medicine, the Canada Gairdner Awards are the most prestigious global medical research awards.

Catterall was recognized by the foundation for discovering the voltage-gated sodium-channel and calcium-channel proteins that underlie electrical signaling in the brain. His work also has led to a new understanding of the molecular mechanisms of function and regulation of these ion channel proteins. Catterall’s recent work has turned toward understanding diseases caused by impaired function and regulation of voltage-gated ion channels, including epilepsy and periodic paralysis.

Catterall officially will be presented with the 2010 Canada Gairdner International Award in October. Each of the awards come with a $100,000 cash prize.

NEXT PAGE 1 | 2 | 3 | 4

First Name:
Last Name:

Comment on this item:
Our comments are moderated. Maximum 1000 characters. We would appreciate it if you signed your name to your comment.





Page 1 of 1

found= true996