September 2010

What’s New with the EPD?

All of this will take time, effort and careful consideration. However, rest assured that the ASBMB members who go the extra mile by serving on the EPD (and UAN) are talented and committed. This year, we welcome three new members who are starting their three-year terms on the EPD:


Jose M. Barral is an assistant professor in the departments of neuroscience and cell biology and biochemistry and molecular biology at the University of Texas Medical Branch.


Lisa Gentile is associate professor and chairwoman of the department of chemistry at the University of Richmond and a recipient of the ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education. She has a strong track record in developing science research and outreach programs and is currently co-director of a Howard Hughes Medical Institute-funded undergraduate science research program.


Weiping Jiang is director at R&D Systems. He also is a member of the Journal of Biological Chemistry editorial board. Weiping’s addition is part of a long-term effort to communicate with and serve our members, current and potential, working in the commercial/industrial sector.


Joseph Provost is professor and chairman of the department of chemistry at Minnesota State University Moorhead. He currently is a councilor in the chemistry division of the Council on Undergraduate Research, a past member of the Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education editorial board and a past chairman of the ASBMB UAN. In addition to his experience and ability as an educator, Joseph’s familiarity with organizations that play a role in enhancing STEM education make him a valuable asset.


Peter J. Kennelly ( is a professor and head of the department of biochemistry at Virginia Tech.


First Name:
Last Name:

Comment on this item:
Our comments are moderated. Maximum 1000 characters. We would appreciate it if you signed your name to your comment.


There aren't any comments on this item yet. Tell us what you think!


Page 1 of 1

found= true944