September 2010

ASBMB Announces 2011 Award Winners


The American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology named 12 scientists the winners of its annual awards. The recipients will give talks at the annual meeting April 9 -13 in Washington, D.C.


Awards---Brunger Axel T. Brunger, Stanford University professor and Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, won the inaugural DeLano Award for Computational Biosciences for his work in structural biology. The award is given to a scientist for innovative and accessible development or application of computer technology to enhance research in the life sciences at the molecular level. Brunger’s concepts and strategies helped provide the foundation of much of modern structural biology.
Awards---Chalfant Charles E. Chalfant, an associate professor at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine and a research career scientist at the McGuire Veterans Administration Medical Center in Richmond, Va., won the Avanti Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research for his work on lipid-signaling pathways regulating alternative pre-mRNA processing and eicosanoid biosynthesis. The award recognizes outstanding research contributions by young investigators with no more than 15 years of experience.
Awards---Dekker Job Dekker, an associate professor at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, won the ASBMB Young Investigator Award, which recognizes outstanding research contributions to biochemistry and molecular biology by those who have no more than 15 years of postdoctoral experience. Dekker developed and applied powerful new technologies to study the three-dimensional organization of chromosomes and genomes.
Awards---Guthrie Christine Guthrie, a professor at the University of California, San Francisco, won the ASBMB-Merck Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to research in biochemistry and molecular biology. Guthrie, an American Cancer Society research professor of molecular genetics, pioneered the use of budding yeast as a model organism to elucidate the mechanism of messenger RNA splicing.
Awards---Gutierrez-Hartmann Arthur Gutierrez-Hartmann, a professor at the Anschutz Medical Campus of the University of Colorado-Denver School of Medicine, won the inaugural Ruth Kirschstein Diversity in Science Award, which honors an outstanding scientist who has shown a strong commitment to the encouragement and mentoring of underrepresented minorities entering science. Gutierrez-Hartmann studies the role of ETS transcription factors in development and cancer.
Awards---Hannun Yusuf Hannun, professor and department chairman at the Medical University of South Carolina, won the Avanti Award in Lipids for his work on bioactive sphingolipids, a class of lipids that, when defective, can cause disorders with significant medical impacts.
Awards---Johnson Arthur E. Johnson, a distinguished professor at the Texas A&M Health Science Center’s College of Medicine, won the Fritz Lipmann Lectureship. The award, issued every other year, was established by friends and colleagues of Nobel Prize winner Lipmann for conceptual advances in biochemistry, bioenergetics or molecular biology.
Awards---Kerfeld Cheryl A. Kerfeld, a structural biologist and the head of the Department of Energy Joint Genome Institute’s Education and Structural Genomics Program, won the ASBMB Award for Exemplary Contributions to Education. Kerfeld, who also serves as an adjunct professor at the University of California, Berkeley, was named the winner for encouraging effective teaching and learning of biochemistry and molecular biology through her own teaching, leadership in education, writing, educational research, mentoring and public enlightenment.
Awards---Moore Melissa J. Moore, a professor at the University of Massachusetts Medical School and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, has been named the winner of the William C. Rose Award. Moore, noted for her work with gene splicing and messenger RNA, was nominated for the award in recognition of her outstanding contributions to biochemical and molecular biological research and her demonstrated commitment to the training of younger scientists.
Awards---Stark George R. Stark, a distinguished scientist at the Cleveland Clinic’s Lerner Research Institute and emeritus professor of genetics at Case Western Reserve University, won the 2011 Herbert Tabor/Journal of Biological Chemistry Lectureship. The award recognizes outstanding lifetime scientific achievements and was established to honor the many contributions of Herbert Tabor to both the society and the journal, for which he has served as editor for nearly 40 years.
Awards---BrownAwards---Goldstein Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein, from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, have been named the winners of the inaugural Earl and Thressa Stadtman Distinguished Scientist Award. Brown and Goldstein shared the 1985 Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology for their discovery of the LDL receptor and the process of receptor-mediated endocytosis. In recent years, they discovered sterol regulatory element-binding proteins and the process of regulated-intramembrane proteolysis.


Click here for videocasts of past award lectures, and don't forget to look for more information on the award winners and their lecture topics in upcoming issues of ASBMB Today.

Angela Hopp ( is managing editor for special projects at ASBMB.

found= true944