July 2010

ASBMB Announces New Council and Committee Members

This month, several new American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology council and committee members will start their terms on the Council, Nominating Committee, Public Affairs Advisory Committee and Publications Committee.


Starting July 1, 2010 several new American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology council and committee members will start their terms. Karen Allen, Michael A. Marletta and Jonathan Weissman will join the ASBMB council; Scott D. Emr and Anna Marie Pyle will become members of the Nominating Committee; Ronald R. Bach, Michael Gelb, Rachel Green, Laura Kiessling and Keith R. Yamamoto will join the Public Affairs Advisory Committee; Paul F. Cook, Ann Marie Pendergast and Frances Sharom will join the Publications Committee and Mark Lemmon will remain as the society’s secretary. All newly elected members began serving their terms on July 1, 2010.

ASBMB Council

Elections---AllenKaren N. Allen is a professor of physiology and biophysics at the Boston University School of Medicine. She earned her Bachelor of Science from Tufts University and her doctorate from Brandeis University. Her research is concerned with diverse aspects of protein structure, function and design. Her lab employs a multidisciplinary approach involving state-of-the-art X-ray crystallography and spectroscopy, molecular modeling, enzymology and molecular biology to address fundamental problems at the interface of enzymology and structural biology.

Elections---MarlettaMichael A. Marletta is the Aldo DeBenedictis distinguished professor of chemistry and a professor of biochemistry and molecular biology at the University of California, Berkeley. He earned his bachelor’s degree in biology and chemistry from the State University of New York at Fredonia and his doctorate degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Marletta’s primary research interests lie at the interface of chemistry and biology with emphasis on the study of protein function and enzyme reaction mechanisms. He has made fundamental discoveries concerning the biological action of nitric oxide. He has been an ASBMB member since 1988.

Elections---WeissmanJonathan S. Weissman is a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and a professor of cellular and molecular pharmacology and of biochemistry and biophysics at the University of California, San Francisco. He received his undergraduate physics degree from Harvard College and his doctorate in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Weissman’s research looks at how cells ensure that proteins fold into their correct shape, as well as the role of protein misfolding in disease and normal physiology. He also is developing experimental and analytical approaches for exploring the organizational principles of biological systems.

Nominating Committee

Elections---EmrScott D. Emr is director of the Weill Institute for Cell and Molecular Biology at Cornell University. He received his Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Rhode Island and his doctoral degree in molecular genetics from Harvard University. The Emr lab studies the regulation of cell signaling pathways by phosphoinositide kinases, vesicle-mediated transport reactions and selective ubiquitin modifications.

Elections---PyleAnna Marie Pyle is a professor in the department of molecular biophysics and biochemistry at Yale University. She received her bachelor’s degree from Princeton University and her doctorate in chemistry from Columbia University. Pyle uses the group II intron as a model system for studying ribozyme catalysis, RNA folding and RNA-protein interactions. She also studies the mechanisms of RNA helicase enzymes. She has been an ASBMB member since 2007.

NEXT PAGE 1 | 2 | 3

First Name:
Last Name:

Comment on this item:
Our comments are moderated. Maximum 1000 characters. We would appreciate it if you signed your name to your comment.


There aren't any comments on this item yet. Tell us what you think!


Page 1 of 1

found= true858